206705 User submitted reviews online!!
Paynetown State Recreation Area was rated 8 out of 10 based on 8 user reviews. Phone: (812) 837-9546
CGID9504

Paynetown State Recreation Area

Camp Information
Sites
227
Date of Stay
July 2013
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
7   7   10   8   5   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$25
Nice campground, but lots of traffic with all of the people pulling boats and campers. The restrooms are older, but were kept clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$24
Nice state park. Staff seems decent. Some sites wooded and some out in the open. You have your pick. No water at sites, but a few spigots here and there. Probably ought to be a few more so they aren't quite so far apart. Most roads were good; however, I was a little surprised with the main road running through the campground. There were a few craters that need to be addressed pretty bad. Bathrooms and showers were clean, but dated. Probably pretty active during the main season, but VERY quiet for our stay. We will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Stayed at site 174. Site was fairly clean, appeared to have been recently mowed. Quiet during week, but a little noisy on weekend. Did not mind as folks did not get unruly. Had very nice neighbors. Got rained on a couple different days, but we're in a drought, so rain is good. Watched the Perseid meteor shower with several people and the park Naturalist. Enjoyed our stay and will stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$25
Very nice area, nice wooded lots. Some lots have lake access. Was quiet through the week but got very loud on the weekend. Last weekend before school started. Will be going back soon. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2009
$58
Multiple restroom facilities in disrepair, meaning 1 of 2 stalls was not functioning. With the ratio of facilities to campsites it became a problem. Sites were gravel except for one loop, and the gravel was almost gone. Everyone parking in the grass, and wherever they wanted, which is not what we normally see in State Parks. There were mostly boaters, which made it less than desirable for those wanting to camp, as it meant late nights of noise from both boats and campers. The beach was adequate. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$18
We absolutely love this campground and camp several times a year here. Some sites are somewhat small and Not level so you do need to do your homework before arriving. I suggest doing a drive through prior to camping season (if that is possible for you) as to pick sites that would be suitable to your needs. The shower houses are clean and located centrally throughout the park, nice playgrounds, beach and boat mooring at some sites. Very clean, large, shaded sites available but you definitely need to plan ahead. You can reserve six months in advance so most of the "great" sites get taken very fast. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2009
$15
Since we visit Bloomington often, we have found this campground both close enough for daily commute to town, and excellent for our camping needs. We have happy to camp there in both August of 2004 (three nights) and May 2009 (three nights). The campground, indeed, as well as the whole park, is well maintained, has playground for the kids, boat rental, and I believe excursion boat trips on the Huge Lake Monroe Reservoir. The staff is helpful and courteous and readily available both night and day!! Really a nice place. You will like it!! We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$17
Large state-run campground, built by Corps of Engineers, in hilly rural area on Lake Monroe. Nominal one-time entry fee to park is in addition to camping fees; entry fee varies depending on state residency. Most sites large & well-spaced; some with paved pads & concrete patios, others with gravel pads. All have fire rings. Extra picnic tables (more than one per site). Some sites in open, others partly shaded, others deep in woods. Many sites not level; best sites for bigger rigs are the paved back-ins. Some nice walk-in tent sites too. Some sites are accessible to water; boats can be pulled up onshore near the campsite. Campground directories say this park is not reservable but camp hosts told us all sites are reservable. Campground will be busy & crowded on weekends, as it's very popular. Bathhouses are typical Indiana state park basic, concrete floors etc., and are supplemented by pit toilets. Several camp hosts in residence, even off season. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com