219014 User submitted reviews online!!
Anchor Bay Campground was rated 7 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (707) 884-4222
CGID9533

Anchor Bay Campground

Camp Information
Sites
28
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$47



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
no
Water
yes
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
no
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   2   8   10   3   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$47
Small park right on a cove on the ocean. Restrooms were somewhat primitive and unheated but clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2012
$33
Anchor Bay is a small private camp with about nine overnight spaces right on the edge of a quiet beach. It is down in a small canyon below the switchback of the coast highway. The bulk of the other sites are permanent, owned units, but in winter almost all are vacant. So you enter past all these and park right at the beach end. In winter, lower rates and even the overnights are mostly vacant, so its a great atmosphere and usually good weather. Walk up to a restaurant or two and great natural-food oriented grocery, or 4 miles to town with much more. This is our favorite stop on the winter loop down the coast. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
December 2011
$30
A few words to sum up this utterly disappointing park, DIRTY AND CRAMPED. We should have gone 4 miles down the road and stayed there. Yuck. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2009
$45
We have camped here a couple of times before. Sites on the ocean are smaller but worth it. I do not know anyplace else where you can camp so close to the ocean. The beach is spectacular. Restrooms were always cleaned and maintained. Hosts were new and seemed very helpful. Larger sites with pull-throughs were available on the other side of the campground away from the ocean. Entire family had great time. Next time we need to bring the kayaks. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$30
What a beautiful small campground! It's very clean with a small store, place to clean fish/abalone, and an area for parties where you can wash your dishes with hot water! The bathrooms and showers were sparkling clean. Some sites are owner occupied, but there were plenty of beautiful sites in the Redwood trees or (our favorite) on the sea wall, steps from the ocean. We've camped here over the past 17 years and I have NEVER seen any "drug dealers" as mentioned by another blog. This is a well-run, good place to bring the family or for us retired folks, a good place to rest and relax. Also, the hosts do enforce the 10pm "quiet time" when necessary. We've met a lot of wonderful people at Anchor Bay Campground and am glad it's still here! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
March 2009
$45
Anchor Bay has the smallest, most miserable camp spaces I have ever seen. It was claustrophobic, and we were only one site away from the beach. People were playing very loud music which the camp host did nothing to quiet. The beach is OK. The best spots were filled with full-time live-ins, so are unavailable. They must be relatives of the owners. Sonoma State Beach just up the highway at Wrights Beach is worth the drive, even if they do not have hook ups, for the privacy and openness of the spaces, and they are available for reservations through Reserve America. I would never go back to Anchor Bay. What a waste of a potentially beautiful place We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2008
$40
Pros: fantastic location on Highway 1, with direct access to a beautiful small beach enclosed at both ends by cliffs (dogs allowed OFF LEASH on the beach!). You can walk up a long wood staircase to get to the quaint small town, with grocery store, restaurant, etc. Cons: campground can be very wet and dank because of fog. We had drug dealers come up to us on the beach and ask us if we wanted to buy - Yikes! - one guy actually hung out in one of the beach-side camp spots nearly every day, waiting for customers and chatting up the campground guests. The assistant camp hosts are noisy - they had a huge fight the night we were there and went on all night. Regular camp hosts are friendly, especially the woman, but they live in a house overlooking the campground, and they were noisy too. However, you can't beat the beach here, if you can live with the rest of it. Also, they will keep your money if you need to cancel, no matter how far in advance - no refunds, no how. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com