223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Cedar Pass Campground (NPS Campground) was rated 8 out of 10 based on 35 user reviews. Phone: (605) 433-5460
CGID9589

Cedar Pass Campground (NPS Campground)

Camp Information
Sites
96
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$36



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   7   7   10   8   8   7   6   7   4   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  no  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
Rate for non-electric site is $18. For electric, it is $36.30 a night. Sites can be reserved although you can usually get a site for a night or two when you arrive (even electric sites). They just repaved the entire campground which is very nice. The views are tremendous. This is a very nice National Park campground. We've stayed here before and will stay again in the future. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2013
$14
Spent two nights here in September as a base for Badlands touring. You can't beat the location and can have some great open views and night skies. Because of the location, there are no trees or anything to provide any privacy from the other campers. Since not all sites have electric, be prepared to hear a lot of generators running. It was really hot when we stayed (over 100 degrees) so that may account for the number of generators running at all hours. We camped here in a Truck Camper.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2013
$30
The rock views at sunrise and sunset, along with electric hookups now installed (with a big jump in price) made this a good choice for visiting Badlands. It was 104 degrees when we arrived, so grateful to be able to run the AC. Otherwise, this price (based on an online booking) is a high for the level of facilities provided and I would try a commercial campground if I returned. Sites are along the road, no shade, electric only, a picnic shelter for each. Restrooms a bit basic & buggy and no showers. The management seems very casual. No apparent camp host, though our name was clipped on a post ( not the same site we had reserved), so we had to track down a concession employee to seek assurance that we could remain in the alternate site. But the views were superb. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Stayed here in summer and it was very hot as no shade from trees. However, it is a must see and a must do to stay in the midst of these amazing Badlands. Showers and toilets are very clean. Have to pay up to $1.50 for a shower but hat is for 10 mins so well worn it. The visitor centre is not far away if you need some air conditioning and some good food. We didn't feel like cooking it was so hot. Would do this again! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$20
Rate reflects Senior discount. The sites are paved, because they are just wide spots in the road. Not all sites have electricity. There are water spigots located on each loop and at the dump station. The scenery in the park is fantastic and they have an open hiking policy so you can go wherever you want. Just remember to take plenty of water. The restrooms were ok, but it was so hot in the shower building that we couldn't stay in there long enough to take a shower. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2013
$22
Very lovely views and clean grounds. Confusing when we went because the camp host left that day and our spot was tight. They are along a road end to end, but the views are amazing and so is the park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2013
$30
Perfectly situated in the park; close to main visitor center, amphitheater, loop road, and great view of Badlands formations. As others have noted, a little odd setup where each site is a pull in off the road, but this was fine as we were able to hook to electricity fine. Wish each spot had water hookup. Bathrooms were dated, but spotless. Note that website is a little dodgy when booking; you have to keep clicking until you find the RV sites. Nice spot for visiting Badlands. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2013
$30
The location of the park is excellent. The campground itself if a very funny layout. There are loops, but the camping spots are just along the side of the road (you just pull off to the side). Many are VERY unlevel. It can also be a very tight squeeze depending on how many folks are camping there. We stayed 2 nights and did not have any issues with noise, neighbors, etc. I am not sure if I would camp here again or just go another 1/4 mile down the road to the KOA. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
This is a basic two-loop campground. Pretty much just wide roads that you parked along side of. Each came with a partial covered table (from the wind/sun). Some with electrical outlets (hence the rv hookup) and some without. There were restrooms of course. They had a ranger talk in the evening that was kind of fun (geared towards the children, but that's what it's really about anyway). Views are dynamite because you are right there, in amongst everything. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
June 2013
$29
We didn't care for the campground layout where you basically pull alongside the road and the camper opens to the road. The trash dumpsters were overflowing. The showers were new or newly remodeled and were clean and hot although the water spray was so strong that it was uncomfortable on the skin. We usually try to stay in State and National Parks first, then private campgrounds before selecting a chain, but we would not go back if we are ever in the area again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2012
$5
Rates reflects Golden Age Passport rate for winter camping. No services are available during winter, and there are only a few sites from which to choose. Area is paved - just pull in and park. We chose Site #2 and had to level. We were the only unit in the park that night, so it was very quiet. There are lots of deer roaming through the campground at night. We would stay here again, but not in summer when all 100 or so sites are all full. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2012
$14
Awkward campground design, electric sites are designed so the trailer door opened onto the street. But the good news is that two tractor trailers arrived with new portable showers which were being installed as we left. Our rate reflected a senior NPS discount. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$14
Rate reflects Access Pass discount. I don't believe we would have stayed here at $28 full price for electric only, plus the $15 entry fee. The National Park itself is spectacular, but the campground is minimalist. No campsites per se, just pull to the side of the campground road next to a electrical box. Covered tables and dumpsters but nothing else. Could not get a voice signal on either AT&T or Verizon - slow, slow Verizon Internet connection only with antenna and amplifier. Campground hosts are not exactly rude, but not friendly either. Lodge restaurant nearby was a major disappointment, but a good gift shop, if you feel money burning a hole in your pocket. Groceries available in Interior, about 2 miles away or in Wall, about 20 miles. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
This is a weird park. It's just one big loop with wider areas for you to pull to the side of the road so you are parked right behind someone else. Depending on which side you pull off on whether your door opens up onto the grass or the road. Electric only but it is 50 amp which we needed for the A/C as it was hot there. Would stay there again only because there aren't many choices. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$14
Rate reflects senior discount. Convenient to the "loop" road through the park although out in the open subject to the elements, no shade and plenty of wind. Had it not been for our discount we would not have stayed here and paid $28 for electricity. Campground host did not seem too people friendly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$10
A long drive from the Interstate but well-worth it. They are working on repaving the roads so we did have some stop and go. The destination is well-worth the aggravation as the scenery is spectacular. We got there in the early afternoon and we were able to get an electric site which are first come, first served. It is "on the road" parking with the electric box at the side. There is no water hookup. There is a trail to the Visitor Center, the Gift Shop in the main building, and a restaurant. We would definitely stay here for a longer time on our next trip. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$14
Rate reflects the senior pass rate which is half price. Layout of the park is unusual because the sites are located on a circle with pull-outs on each side of the road. When we were there it was not very crowded but I wonder what it would be like with rigs on both sides with slides extended. There are some sites with electricity. There is water available but not at the sites. A dump is available. A sheltered picnic table is provided at each site. The views of the Badlands were beautiful. The night we were there there was a storm with a lightening display in the distance. This is near the Visitor Center and within an easy drive to the shorter trails. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2012
$20
This campground is simple and spare, but it is terrific! The spaces are large, there is a sheltered (from the wind) picnic table, and best of all the views are gorgeous! I loved staying here and would definitely come back. The dump station is easy to reach and you can walk from the campground to the lodge, gift shop, and the amphitheater. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
Wonderful views from this park, which makes it worth a stay. Sites are a little strange in terms of layout; everyone is parallel to the road in circles (made me think of "circling the wagons"). No showers but clean restrooms. The wind does blow here so watch your awning. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$28
This campground is iin a beautiful spot. We arrived in the early evening and there was still a site available. We were told it is rarely full. There are no reservations. The sites are electric only. There are no showers. The sites are not really pull thru but curbside parallel parking along some posts. It was a bit tight for our 38ft 5th wheel and medium duty truck. The sites have a sheltered picnic table. The views are spectacular. There is a gift shop with cafe and park visitor center within walking distance. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$14
Great value. Not fancy. Parking is along the edge of roads in the camping area. Restrooms were clean. Staff was friendly. No showers. No water hook-ups. There is a dump station that is convenient. There was plenty of room for our 40' motorhome and our tow vehicle. We stayed two nights. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$14
Sites here are large pull-offs along a paved loop. Electric sites are $28, non-electric are $16, both 50% off with Golden Age Pass. Views of the Badlands were great, and you can't beat the value. Sites are completely exposed, but come with a picnic table with a built-in sun/wind shade. It was incredibly windy over our 2 day visit, which seems to be normal for here. A special place with some great hiking. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
May 2012
$28
Very nice campground with easy pull through sites. There is a water faucet for you to fill your fresh water tank. Restrooms are very clean; although, there are no showers. You have views of the Badlands. Would camp here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$28
We loved this campground. Sites are on the outside of the road with a beautiful view of the Badlands. Wish we could have stayed longer. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
August 2011
$15
Luckily we caught an overcast day to stay here. No shade at all. Very basic campground, electric hookup only. But it's cheap. Stunning scenery. The sites are just pullouts off the loop through the campground but thus paved and level. Didn't use the facilities. Would stay again to see the night sky. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
August 2011
$12
The views of the badlands are breathtaking. The evening star show in the amphitheater is fantastic. This was my 3rd time camping here -- once in a motorhome, once in a tent, and now in a tent trailer. Honestly, I had forgotten the grungy bathrooms, lack of showers, lack of water access (can get to it only with an extra long hose), hot sun, and dusty wind. I had forgotten that you just park on the road and call it a "camp." I had forgotten that you open the door of your camper right into the passing traffic. All I remembered was the breathtaking sunrise, sunset, and surrounding landscape. I hope that is all my husband and daughter remember in the end, as well, although given the miserable camping situation, it's going to take some time. Try to come here in the off season. The campground would be much nicer if you aren't parked end to end on the road with a bunch of other RVs. We camped here in a Tent Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2011
$14
Excellent campground and we enjoyed our stay. Due to dry conditions of the area, fires are not allowed which did not bother me one bit. They have 50 amp available and incredible views. It was over 105 the day we were here so I used every amp of that electric hookup to run both air conditioners. It is close to the amphitheater and the visitor center. While your here, don't miss the Minute Man missile site which is free. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$28
We loved this park, great location, great scenery, no complaints whatsoever here. I suppose if you are in a rig with your door facing the street you might not appreciate it as much, but when we camped here those inside spaces were being used by tent campers, while the RVs were camped in appropriate spots for their orientation. Water and dump were easily accessible, and with electric at the site we found this to be an exceptional National Park campground. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2011
$28
Nice location but not worth the money. No showers. Park setup screwy, you walk out your door right into traffic. It is ungodly hot. No place to buy groceries or shopping. Stay in one of the privately owned parks and you will be happier. The closest grocery is in Wall and shopping at Wall Drug was great. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
We camped here for a week. We loved this campground, as the views are breathtaking. It was a quiet, basic campground with electric hookups only and a dump station with potable water for filling tanks. There are clean restrooms, but no showers. It is close to the Badlands visitors center (could walk or bike there on a gravel trail). We enjoyed the nightly ranger programs in the amphitheater near the campground. The closest grocery and laundry were in Wall, SD about 30 minutes away, although there are the expensive convenience stores nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$28
No showers! I thought I read somewhere that they did, but they don't. (Not yet, the campground 'soop' said they plan on getting them.) No water hookup. We did get the electric hook up. For $1 self pay, you can get to the sewer dump and fresh water hook up on the way in, or out. They do have fresh water near the sites too, just no hook ups. I liked the park setup. Bathrooms were gross according to my wife. Park is very cool. I would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2010
$14
We knew what we were getting in this park. There are no services. But, there are modern bathrooms with running water. The sites are large. But, you parallel park next to them. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2010
$7
This is DRY camping. No showers. Water for drinking. I have a 33 foot travel trailer so with the tow vehicle I am about 65 feet long. There were only a few sites that I could pull into and clear the road. The sites are only "wide" spots on the road. Since this is SD the wind blows all the time. Try to pick a side of the road that you have afternoon shade. There is a dump station with fresh water to fill your tanks. The rate is the Golden Age half price rate. I stayed 3 nights. If you are there when there is NO moon and no clouds make sure you see the star show on the weekends. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$7
Golden Age rate. Great views from Campground. No problems with our 36' wide body motorhome with toad. Two camping loops, Agate and Butte, each with a road down the middle. Agate is the more level of the two loops. Almost all sites are roadside sites (the road widens and you just pull into the widened area). So the sites on the inside of the loop put your steps towards the road. We had a nice outside site and spent 3 nights. Visitor center is in walking distance. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
September 2008
$14
Clean bathrooms don't make a great RV park. It was difficult to maneuver on roads- tight turns with sites fairly close together. Why no hookups? There were no trees; it was very barren & sparse. It was close to park activities and amphitheater for nightly programs. The staff was helpful & courteous. There were no RV services in the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com