215256 User submitted reviews online!!
Torrey Oakes RV & Golf Resort was rated 9 out of 10 based on 17 user reviews. Phone: (863) 773-3157
CGID9621

Torrey Oakes RV & Golf Resort

Camp Information
Sites
241
Date of Stay
April 2012
Latest Rate
$10



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   7   8   8   7   10   9   10   10   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$10
We stayed for free as we had gotten a promotion at the Tampa RV show. However, I think the promo is ongoing as the park is interested in selling lots. A resident did visit us about the purchase program. This is a very well maintained park with pool, activities, etc. The golf course is next door, although we only used the driving range. The sites are level, concrete, and well kept. Everyone is extremely friendly. We were in site #129 which is directly across from the office. A good site for satellite reception and FREE. All sites are 50 amp with water and sewer. Absolutely no problem with a 42' motorhome. If I'm right this is a Class A and fifth wheel only park. (Could be wrong on that). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2011
$20
Nightly rate is based on one month stay. Nice facilities and many activities. Very friendly people and courteous staff, especially the work campers. Emphasis is on lot ownership but ho high pressure. Never could get decent Wi-Fi signal. Had several power outages and generally low water pressure. On site sewage treatment plant gets a bit odiferous so suggest a site closer to the office and pool areas. Nearest town of Wauchula has a few stores for essentials and a couple decent restaurants but that's about it. A lot of the stores on the main street have ceased business. The nearest mall or movie theater is a 30 mile drive. Great for a short stay only. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$19
We stayed here a week at the passport rate. It is a nice park. They are trying to sell lots but that is not our thing. A previous reviewer had it right. The front desk needs to be more informative and maybe friendlier. Facilities are good but the water pressure is very low. There was work going on in the park to upgrade some sites that made it very dusty, maybe they could have done it off season. Golf course winds around the park and is reasonably priced for what you get. There are a couple good restaurants in Wauchula but not much else. Bowling Green is a little more than 4 corners. Would stay here again but I don't think we would stay more than a couple weeks. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2011
$22
Torrey Oaks is an active: shuffle board, pool, 18-hole golf w/I walking distance at approx 22.00/round w/cart, pickle ball and nightly/daily activities for the residents, 55+ resort. Their main goal is to sell you a lot but if they have open spaces, outsiders can come in and make reservations. Park roads all paved. The town of Wauchula, FL is closeby with a Wal-Mart, a hardware store and a couple of nice, reasonably priced restaurants that we would go back to (Paul’s and the Bread Board). But that’s about all this town offers. Wauchula is mostly a bump in the road. Bowling Green isn't even a bump. They do offer free TengoNet service but some of our neighbors claimed they could never log on. We logged on but our Verizon MiFi worked very well. The park was quiet at night. On the down side there was construction going on (upgrading the sold sites), the water pressure was awful and they just couldn’t see the wisdom of having even an inexpensive wooden picnic table at the rental sites so this accounts for the less than perfect score. They do offer a daily e-mail from the activities couple, that we learned about by accident. So their check in process needs a little work. There are lots of sites with overhanging live oak branches (stops a satellite signal) so be sure to tell them if you need a clear shot to the skies. We did, but our “to the site escort“ still attempted to put us under the trees. We would return as the special weekly price was not ($150.00+tax ) out of line. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$1
Older park that has been fixed up and now selling sites, so we had 2 free nights. Tour and sales are very low key. Very friendly guests with many activities. Definitely would stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2011
$17
This is a class A resort, with a golf course. Beautiful pool, shuffle board & patio area. I enjoyed using the fitness room every day while there. The sites are spacious, but, not fully paved. Only two long concrete strips for your coach wheels to park on. They have a rec room where occasionally have shows to entertain guests. I would recommend this park. Except, you are a long distance from a good shopping area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2011
$25
We are full time RVers and sadly our schedule only allowed us just 3 short weeks here. This is a lovely park with wide sites and loads of activities with the most friendly folks we've met in a long time. Golf is adjacent and there are lots of golfing activities: for the beginner as well as the experienced. Many, many other activities daily for all folks at the lovely Rec Center. A good spot for everyone amongst the orange trees in the Wauchula, FL area. The only drawback we see is that there is not a whole lot to do in the surrounding area other than a wonderful $1.99 breakfast at a place called Paul's in nearby Wauchula. No movies, no shopping, nothing else around here: but the park itself is WONDERFUL and if you're not looking for any other amenities in the near area, this is the place to stay! Much better than any other RV park in the area BY FAR and we drove through them all! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2010
$24
The rate reflects monthly discount. Electricity was an additional charge. We stayed here for two months and were delighted with the place. We had some trepidation in staying here as it is clearly a rather remote location. Shopping is limited in the immediate area but there is a Wal-Mart within three miles. We found the distance from a major city to not be an issue though as there were so many activities at the resort that we hated to leave in case we missed something! Pickle ball and golf are the two most popular activities with games scheduled every day for both. Shuffleboard was popular during our second month there. There was a dinner or potluck every week and games each night of the week. This is a very social and friendly RV resort, definitely the friendliest we have ever encountered. The sites are deeded lots but many have yet to be sold and are available for rent. Landscaping is attractive and the sites are fairly spacious with concrete slabs for the vehicles. There was no patio area which meant we tracked in grass regularly. The RV resort could benefit from cable hookups and improved Wi-Fi. It was free but only one person could be logged in at a time. Overall though this was an excellent place to stay and we have made reservations to return next winter. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2010
$35
Best resort we have ever stayed in. Everything is new and nothing is broken. Staff and residents are the nicest people we have met, no attitudes. There's so many activities, you run out of time. Has a large fenced in dog park and all the little critters play together. Lots are for sale here, but there's no pressure to buy. Surrounded by an 18-hole golf course and orange groves. We stayed for the season and have made this our destination park. Only Class "A's" and 5th wheels are allowed. Only complaint would be the potable water occassionally has an odor. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2010
$35
Really enjoyed this park, a very modern nice park mixed with a bit of old Florida in central Florida. None of the hustle, bustle of the coast and virtually no crime. There are excellent level campsites, the friendliest employees and residents of any park we have been to. We were driving down the road to the park and there were a couple of residents waving hi and welcoming us. Though located in the center of the state, this was a good locale for going to a lot of local events and seeing the Royal Lipizzaner-Myakka, the murals in Lake Placid, the Strawberry Fest, both coasts and golfing. They have a meal put on by the park on Saturdays and a lot of activities. Employees Carmen and Carol are very visible and well liked by the residents. We are from Wisconsin and will seriously consider buying a lot in the future if still available. We would definitely stay in this clean, well maintained park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
February 2010
$30
Very clean park. Golfer's will love it as it is surrounded by a nice 18-hole golf course. New showers, restrooms, rec hall, billiards building, pickleball courts, shuffleboard, horseshoes, biking. People were friendly. Nice, safe area with grocery shopping nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2010
$35
Torrey Oaks RV and Golf Resort is a nice park unfortunately located way out in the country. That's not a bad thing, but it does take some driving to get to other Florida attractions. Sites are average in size and have, for the most part, two concrete tracks for your coach's wheels, with grass in between. The rest of the landscaping consists of brown grass, sand, and gravel. Don't know if the brown is from recent frosts or is natural for this time of year. The campground staff is very friendly and helpful. In fact, we were escorted to our site and then the escort proceeded to put blocks under our jacks for us. The campground has about a fifty-fifty mix of transients and seasonals. Everyone was very friendly. There was a pot luck dinner one night, an ice cream social another, a cocktail hour another, and all the golf you could want on the 18 hole course surrounding the campground. If I had anything to complain about it would be a couple of yappy little dogs that didn't get to bed before midnight, a few dog owners who felt they didn't have to pick up after their pooch, and a bad odor coming from the tap water. I think it was sulfur. I wouldn't want to stay here for a season but a few days or a week or two is perfectly fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2009
$27
This park is very well maintained, and the owners are continuing to make improvements. The full time residents are very friendly and made us feel welcomed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Nice campground - stayed here for a special weekend event so rate reflects that. Ladies showers are clean, need doors, not real private. People(residents) were very nice, but office staff (one man) seemed to be less than efficient. Special offer was for a weekend of food, fun and entertainment. We had hot dogs one night, no entertainment and were left on our own the rest of the time. We will try it again in the winter as the residents said it is wonderful then. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$29
Stayed there Jan-Feb in a 45 foot motorhome. Very friendly staff and they have a golf pro with free lessons. Sites are tight with a 45 footer to park your car. Very good value for the area. Golf right next to you. WiFi was good from the start but poor later as the park filled up. We would consider coming back again. Better than most! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
January 2009
$23
The rate reflects the monthly rate of $699. This includes electric and tax and free, strong and reliable wifi. Outstanding park. Many amenities and activities. Outdoor kitchen and BBQ area, large patio area, gazebos, fitness room, media room, pool room, dance hall and commercial kitchen. Chip and putting green with a PGA Master Professional on staff for golf clinics and lessons all included in the rent. In the middle of an 18 hole par 72 golf course. Pet friendly, easy access, quiet. I can't give this park enough praise. Check out the website to see what I mean. All this and the most accommodating and friendly staff that ever ran an RV park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2008
$50
We are so happy with Torrey Oaks that we bought a lot there. The staff is outstanding and the park is kept very well. We love our new home. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com