206564 User submitted reviews online!!
Hidden Oaks RV Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 15 user reviews. Phone: (361) 790-8581
CGID9622

Hidden Oaks RV Resort

Camp Information
Sites
51
Date of Stay
January 2014
Latest Rate
$9.5



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
6   7   6   2   8   8   7   9   7   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  no  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2014
$9.5
The rate is based on a monthly rate for January, which is $285. The positives: The campground has large spaces, most with live oak trees, and many people come back year after year. The WiFi was the best we've ever had at a park.which is a Big Plus! It is very close to the famous live oak Big Tree and some great Whooping Crane watching. The negatives: Sand burs (which in all fairness, they are working on eliminating) and the lack of facilities such as bathrooms and showers. Again, they were working on this. The sites are large, but not very level and sometimes hard to get into because of the trees. There are some permanent residents, but most of those sites are well maintained. Overall, it was a good experience, but I would make sure some of the negatives had been corrected before I stayed again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2013
$28
We stayed overnight and got in after 6:00pm. The office was closed, but the campground maintenance man guided us into a pull-through spot. The place had a canopy of trees and was very dark at night but we used flashlights to get to the shower room. The few people we met were friendly and the laundry room was very clean. All in all this was a good stop for overnight. We might come back. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
March 2013
$20
We were here for a week and had spent the winter for the previous 4 years. The park is finally getting some work and the Wi-Fi actually worked, the water was almost ( I drank it ) drinkable. The septic has had some work on it so it is getting better. The park is getting a lot of long term folks with chain link fences up, wooden fences up and sheds out back. It is looking more like a mobile home park than an RV park. It is called a resort but in no way does it match that. The price I showed was the weekly. The daily is $35 which in my opinion is absurd. The hook ups are basic for water, sewer and electric. The sites are mostly sand and the sand burrs abound. I would stay here short term to visit friends if they were here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
January 2013
$21
Price based on weekly rate. First of all, this was our second time staying here, and now I can state that this is not a place for "big rigs". Our 40' could only fit in one site out of three tries. Wi-Fi is super iffy and although we got a good signal sometimes at our site, the speed was poor to nonexistent. There are absolutely no amenities other than it is super quiet, and the location is the best in the Rockport area. Low tree branches are a real hazard to a tall rig both 5th wheel and class A's. The bathrooms were not cleaned for the entire week of our stay. Hidden Oaks is fast becoming a trailer park and is certainly not a "resort". We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
Have enjoyed a few visits to this park over the last couple years. Not on the water, which is why it's a little lower than 10. However, the quiet park, combined with the big spaces (big enough for a boat, as well) made up for it. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
February 2012
$10
Great location, between Goose Island SP and the Big Tree with whooping cranes on the back side of the block. Wi-Fi needs work, You need AT&T for cell phone. Friendly place with quite roads for walks and biking. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2012
$10
Rate is monthly at $275 up $50 from last year and electric is.19c KWH in line with the area. This is our 4th year here and not a lot of changes. There is new staff that are very friendly and helpful and the office has regular hours. Roads are still dirt and gravel in spots. The Wi-Fi is the worst it has ever been. I guess it works in the office but I got an AT&T MiFi card as I couldn't get it to work at all. AT&T cell service but no Verizon. The sites are large and the area is quiet so it is great for walking in the morning. Sites are not paved and some grass and sandy. Thing is no RV Park is perfect. They all have their pluses and minuses and for me this is the best one in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$18
Nice RV park. New high power Wi-Fi internet throughout the park, one of many recent upgrades we're told. Works great. New friendly management continues to make improvements. Also nice fully furnished large apartment and big clubhouse. Clean restrooms. Best part is location and large, nice and quiet setting. Will surely be back. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2011
$20
The price reflects the weekly rate. The campground is somewhat rustic with approximately 50 permanent RVs. The sites are widely spaced but have limited access due to the trees. All sites and roads are gravel. The Wi-Fi is terrible and there is no Verizon Cellular access. We won't stay there again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
December 2010
$8
Rate based on monthly at $225 and .18 per KWH for electric. This is our third year here. Basic RV park. The term resort is used loosely. Nice big sites well away from the highway and hustle and bustle of town. Wi-Fi is tolerable. AT&T cellular works OK with a Wilson antenna but others don't. There is a new manager, who is really nice and works hard to keep the park running smoothly. All things are a trade off and the pluses on the park well outweigh the minuses. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$19
Hidden Oaks is located well away from the busy Highway 35 which passes through the Rockport area. Unlike many of the other parks in this area, it is very quiet. A majority of the sites are occupied by “Winter Texans”. The parks roadways are gravel and quite rough. There is no cable TV service provided and the Wi-Fi connectivity varies from good to frustratingly slow. This problem is probably due to the level of service (and cost to the park) provided by the Internet service provider. The park is owned by an absentee group of investors, but is staffed by a very pleasant and helpful resident manager. I didn’t make use of the clubhouse, bathrooms or laundry, but they appear to be dark and uninviting. Access through the live oaks is good, but drivers of tall rigs should remain aware of the possibility of low-hanging branches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$8
This was our 2nd year here. The sites are large and the staff are great. There are no organized activities, but the winter Texans are really friendly and we get together and do things we plan, not what an activities director plans. The Wi-Fi is slooooow at best but doable if you are patient. Bottled water is a must for drinking but that is pretty much true for the area. AT&T cell service is good but it seems only AT&T works here. No Verizon, but there is a signal close by ( 3 blocks ) and Verizon may work with a Wilson antenna. Goose Island State park is right down the road and free if you walk in or ride a bicycle in. The area is pretty rural and the walking is nice. This year there were Whooping Cranes down 8th Street that we saw on our 2.5 mile walk. We will be back next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2009
$20
Rate is based upon a weekly rate. Nice small park in quiet location. Many return "Winter Texans". Very friendly and helpful staff. Only downside is very poor Wi-Fi. The manager said they are going to upgrade this soon. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2009
$8
Once you find it, you will be glad you did. Near Goose Island state park, Hidden Oaks has nice, quiet and large sites just like on their website. Many oak trees, but ample space. Park's only a few years old, but owners making many upgrades, esp recently in the clubhouse- pool table, new washers/dryers, fast/free wifi internet. no organized activities, but plenty of resident organized fun and much to do in the area. Plus, a new friendly onsite manager. We will be back! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
January 2009
$8
Above rate based on monthly at $225. Nice park with lots of trees. All sites are back in; if you have a long Fifth Wheel some sites are challenging. In fact the first site we tried I couldn't get into due to trees. It is a very nice park with really big sites and lots of room. The Wi-Fi is spotty at best but they are working on getting it where it works. The owner is spending a LOT of money on this and other improvements. The people here are extremely friendly. There are no planned activities but the winter Texans are always doing something together. For example last night was an impromptu pot luck and right before we got here they had a shrimp boil. I would definitely stay here again. Cell service is OK with Cingular but I've been told Verizon is spotty. A few Wilson Antennas for Verizon cell and air cards. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com