224137 User submitted reviews online!!
Sportsman's Cove Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 7 user reviews. Phone: (352) 591-1435
CGID9649

Sportsman's Cove Resort

Camp Information
Sites
49
Date of Stay
March 2013
Latest Rate
$11



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
5   10   8   8   5   7   6   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2013
$11
If you are thinking that you will have access to Orange lake, think again. Orange Lake is a swamp except for a dredged channel that does not come near to here. The lake levels have not been high enough for over 25 years. http://www.gainesville.com/article/20111222/articles/111229828?p=1&tc=pg for details. This park is OK for overnight or an inexpensive Passport site for a few days. The depressing part of the situation are the dry boat shelters rusting at the site. WIFI good. Cable Great. Back to back sites so if full it might be tight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
February 2012
$16
We loved this park. The owner is a delight and she made sure we got the site we wanted, and this park has unbelievable wifi, which is important to us. Seriously fast and easily available. The workers in the park were all helpful and the long term residents were also friendly and open and not at all "scary". We would definitely stay here again, and may just do the whole winter next year. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2011
$11
If you are looking for a "Fancy" park, don't stay here. McIntosh is a historical little town with lovely Victorian style homes. The park is at the end of the main side street, and very simple. It's not new, but very clean. Superb staff, and they are very responsive. Mobile homes adjacent to the park, but clean and neat. Grassy sites abound, and very quiet for the most part. This is our second stay, and not our last. If the lake level ever comes back up to make this the waterfront marina park it was, it would be a '10' in my book! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2010
$11
Nice cozy little park with a lot of character and an eclectic mix of friendly characters. When first pulling into the park, one might be a bit apprehensive. Try out Google maps' street view, but don't base your willingness to stay on that. It truly is a hidden gem at a terrific price. We came for a week and decided to stay a month. The park has lots of huge trees hanging with Spanish moss for shade and lends to the feeling of being in old Florida. Has lots of boat slips, a boat ramp and fishing accommodations. It seems to be naturally quite quiet, (other than the occasional airboat), but that may just be a “fish camp” thing. We especially liked the planned events that occurred during our stay. There was a hog roast get-together for St. Patrick’s Day, with live music. This Easter they had an Easter egg hunt and ducklings for the kids, followed by a potluck brunch in their screen room. Everyone was quite warm and friendly and it seemed as if all of the children had an awesome and memorable time. The wireless internet (WiFi) was awesome. I was surprised with all of the trees, that the signal was so good. There were over 60 channels of free cable television. The park was super pet-friendly with super friendly pets. Big drawback was the distance to any real shopping. The town’s grocery store was closed and so it was quite a haul to pick up groceries and other necessities. You want to make sure you have a complete list of what is needed. (However, it was only a couple miles to pick things up at gas stations in an emergency). I did miss being able to swim, there is no pool and the lake is a popular place for alligator hunting (in season). Still, feeling that comfortable and welcome did balance things out a bit. We’ll definitely return. We have plenty of friends to go back and visit! Besides, they honor Passport America. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
March 2009
$11
Decided on this park due to the pictures on their website. Surprised is not the word. Their pictures must be at least 10 years old. Orange Lake could only be accessed by boat. Lost fishing rigs from their best fishing location. Will not return for another visit. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2009
$12
At first glance this "resort" does not look inviting. However, the staff was very friendly and the restrooms/showers very clean. Orange Lake is there, but due to the drought very low. Pet friendly. Quiet, except for an occasional air boat. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
January 2009
$11
Passport America. Note this is not a resort, it is a small friendly park next to Orange Lake. Can accept rigs up to 42'. Some people might drive in and out. We however found it to be a nice place and great value, 50 amp, water, sewer and cable TV for $11 plus tax. Was told that they have Wi-Fi, our Verizon broadband worked great. Only a limited number of sites. We came in for 3 days and spent 5. Had a 40' Newmar with 4 slides next to us to us for the first couple of nights, they come often as they have family in the area. A 37' Phaeton with double slides was on our other side. McIntosh is a neat little town, a mix of live oak and tall palms with lots of moss hanging down. Not much right here for stores, food, etc. One small market in down. But it is midway between Ocala and Gainesville. This park is not for everyone, but we would come back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com