220931 User submitted reviews online!!
The Palms River Resort was rated 7 out of 10 based on 29 user reviews. Phone: (760) 326-0333
CGID9698

The Palms River Resort

Camp Information
Sites
48
Date of Stay
May 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   3   9   3   8   7   1   10   9   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
May 2014
$27
I agree with the other people who made poor reviews. Nice long drive-ways, but you put your RV on the gravel beside. Advertise Wi-Fi, we were close to Hot Spot, but didn't work. No cable. Pricy for no cable and Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
February 2014
$35
Good Sam rating is 9/9/9.5, which must be self rated. Given the nonexistent restrooms and showers a 9 rating makes me wonder. We were parked in a gravel lot with a view of a storage building. I could not recommend this park to anyone. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2014
$33
Very nice clean park with a friendly staff and awesome store. Our only complaint is that the pool wasn't heated. Loved it and the river view was lovely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
December 2013
$25
Stayed at the resort during the Christmas holiday. After making an online reservation for a week and paying in full I was told I owed an additional $27 for electric, this was after I stayed one night. The explanation for the charge was “this is a new policy.” The resort web site is not correct, hot tub and pool are not heated and are usable. The resort has a distinctive smell of open sewer by the homes near the pool and showers. ATVs, dirt bikes and golf carts roam at all speeds throughout the resort during all hours making it unsafe to walk. RV sites are mixed in with single wide prefab homes. If you neighbor has an ATV you will be polluted with noise day and night. Paperwork and signatures for registration is mind boggling. I guess it is needed in case you get run over by an ATV. Restroom facilities were clean and the Christmas Party organized by fellow camper was memorable with friendly guests. Sites are level and spacious. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2013
$25
Great to stop in for a night. Site had plenty of room, was all red rock, no concrete patio or shade, but again we were just passing through and it was easy in and out. Clerk at front desk was friendly and helpful. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2013
$30
This park is geared to manufactured and park model homes. The empty spaces are available for RV's. There is only one restroom, centrally located within the beautiful pool area. I did not see any showers, but they may be there. No cable TV, most residents had satellite dishes. All sites had a picnic bench. HD TV was available on our RV antenna. All of the major networks had a good signal. Staff was friendly and very helpful. Boat ramp available. Reasonably priced for a resort style RV park. Office closes at 5PM, and gate requires a pass code. Best make reservation if arriving after 5pm for gate code, and WiFi passwords. Would stay here again, very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
March 2013
$29
Woodalls should be ashamed for rating this RV park high! This is NOT a 5 star resort. The ads for this RV park are VERY deceiving. The "RV" portion of the park is actually in a storage unit-- sites are in a cinder strip between a 10' security fence and storage facility. The pool, though it does exist is actually in a a full time mobile home park not the rv park. The lagoon featured in the ad, is only accessible through the full-time mobile homes-- NOT the description in the add or in Woodalls. We only stayed here because we were tired. I would not stay here again! The sites that do exist as stated above are cinder--no landscaping and the view (besides the neighbors sewer hook-up) were of the fence and the storage unit. There are no public restrooms or showers available to the rv park -- don't expect to use those. (these may be available in the full-time moblie home park) We had to request a picnic table and use blocks to level. All in all, NOT a place we will go back to. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2012
$35
Great park; I love staying here! A beautiful park with all of the amenities! The only problem I have found is that cell service is spotty in a lot of the park. The staff are very friendly and helpful. You will really enjoy staying here if you are lucky enough to find a vacancy. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2012
$12
A very nice park. Staff friendly and helpful. This park is for modular homes and RV's. Seems like RV's are being phased out as new homes are placed. Swimming pool is beautiful but not heated. Spa is great. We stayed here five months. We would return if space is available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
Mostly a community of pre-fab homes. In the center is an gravel area with hookups. Swimming pool seemed nice enough, but the rest of the area was desolate. We thought the name Palms River Resort might give us a view of the Colorado river but no view. We had to walk by people's homes to get a glimpse of the river. The only place for garbage was way up towards the storage facilities; there were no other receptacles available. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2012
$35
We've been on a 3 week road trip in our new RV. Of all of the parks between CA and TX we stayed at this was by far our favorite. We originally were only going to stay one night on our way home but liked it so much we stayed 2. This park felt like a resort. We have two boys 7 & 5 and this place was perfect for them. The pool made us feel like we were on an island instead of the desert (palm trees, lots of shade, misters, bbq grills pool side). We spent the hottest part of the day in the air conditioned game room playing pool, shuffle board, air hockey, foosball, and Ms. pacman (and laundry!). The kids favorite part was the inflatable tall waterslide: we couldn't get them off it! There were more families here than we've seen at other parks and the kids enjoyed making new friends. Ask for a space by the pool!! Only negative was the river beach area. We hoped to play in the river, but without water toys the pool was more appealing. (Great place to bring a boat: wish we had one!!) The beach was clean, just really small and right next to the boat launch. There was a cool deck area to hang out that's overlooking the river though. We'll definitely stay here again when we're traveling on I-40. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
We turned uo to this little oasis late and the gates were closed, thought this looks so expensive but rang number on gate, lovely lady came to let us in and took us to resort style site. Spent night in pool had a lovely poolside BBQ, soaked in spa, saw gym, games room even children's water slide, tennis court, and basketball court. Do yourself a favor and spend time at this oasis on the Colorado river; you won't want to leave. Believe it or not this was the cheapest but by far the best RV camp we stayed in over our 22 days on the road. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2012
$38
WOW! This is the nicest park I have seen by far. The manager that helped us in the store and with our reservation was very outgoing and polite. She has a great up-beat personality and was very helpful. She gave us a tour of the park which was totally amazing! The club house,pool,spa area was beautiful. You can see it a tight running park and very well maintained. The manager told us that they have year round activities and events. Some at the park and some outside the park. We were scheduled to stay only 2 nights but ended up staying a week. The Palms River Resort is were we will spend our summer when we can. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2012
$25
Very clean park and friendly staff. The pool area is very clean and well maintained, however, the pool is not heated which was very disappointing as the pool area is so inviting. Wi-Fi coverage is good. No cable TV, however, they have a great dvd collection in the resort office that you can rent for $1/night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
February 2012
$27
The park in nice. Very clean.The staff friendly. The RV sites were on a gravel slope which required some adjusting and a long way from the river. The Wi-Fi was excellent. The pool heat was not working so the pool was slightly above freezing. The spa required you to turn on the heat which took a half an hour before it warmed. I probably will not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2012
$30
The GPS does not help find this park. It is easy enough if you don't follow the GPS but use the signs. This park started as a mobile home community. The RV spots are in vacant areas. However the RV spots are not between mobile homes but is sections within the park. The spaces are wide and open no landscaping at the sites. It is a gated park along the river. Nice office and staff the people staying in the park are very friendly and were invited to join any of the activities during our short stay. we should stay again and plan for a loner stay next time. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$33
Palms River Resort needs to be your 'Destination Resort' if you want to spend time in the warmth of the Southwest. We found it by accident, and it is one of the best accidents we have ever had. We were headed to Phoenix, found an ad, made a call, and you can say we are HAPPY CAMPERS !! Palms offer extra large sites, friendly managers, great activities, the Colorado River, a general store, beautiful and clean bathrooms, game room, nice gym. All in a gated community that feels like home. Everyone we have met here is friendly, and we believe that is a result of the NEW management that we were told recently came on (Fall of 2011). They and their friendly staff enjoy creating a feeling of community, with Taco Tuesdays and Pancake Breakfast on Sundays that make for a fun time of getting together and meeting people from all over. Wednesday is bingo night at .25 cent cards. We came mid December and found out right away that they had fun things planned for Christmas including a potluck and gift exchange. Then the resort owner (another friendly guy) throws a big New Year's Party for the guests with catered food and music. The resort is half RV spots and half vacation home owners. Very family and pet friendly, great dog walk area, lots of things to do and easy access to highway, Needles, Bullhead City, Ft Mohave and Ft. Havasu. Just 1.5 hrs to Vegas! This is high living and most assured a 5 STAR RESORT that will be our winter destination from here forward. (just don't tell too many people or we wont have room for all our friends to come here every winter) If you have not heard of this place yet, hold on because you will. RV park life does not get any better than this. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
December 2011
$33
This was an overall great resort to stay. They have new signs out front stating that it's under new management. We had the pleasure of meeting them. The couple was very positive and had an up-beat attitude. The park is very well maintained and looks very appealing. They have large spaces back in and pull through any RV will fit in. The club house and pool area is the best I've seen. I will for sure come back and stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
November 2011
$35
We stayed here on the midway point from San Diego to the grand canyon. We were here on a Saturday night. This is primarily a residence based (ownership) location. Lots of ATV activity. Our space was a little small for our 35 foot plus towed. Really upscale. The kids loved the game room. They have a new pool,and jacuzzi. The resort is right on the river with a small beach okay for kids. The river has a high flow rate so the beach area is recessed for safety. Small area but okay for young kids. Don't let them swim out to river though. No trash bins nearby, real pain. The office is real nice and well stocked. It was warm 70 in November. Was a nice overnight. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2011
$27
We stayed here on Thanksgiving weekend, on our way south. It was busy with residents using there ATV's, lots of places to ride. The Wi-Fi was not working when we arrive. We informed the manager and she was all over the service provider. No CATV but good antenna reception. Great night sky's for star gazing. Great overnight rate. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2011
$28
This is the one of the best RV resorts i have ever had the pleasure to stay at. If you are traveling through Laughlin or going through needles on I-40 take the river road exit and you are there. These are the largest sites I have ever seen. Has a great store and wonderful pool and club house. This place is a 10++++ has excellent monthly rates. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
June 2011
$33
Office was not open during posted hours in advertising. We waited nearly half an hour for someone to open the office more than 2 hours after the posted opening time. Daily message boards had not been updated in over a week. We requested a 50 amp pull through and were told none were available. The road to the site we were assigned was narrow, and partially blocked with other campers personal inflatable toys spilling out into the road. Backing into the space was very difficult. There was no shade, everything was gravel or concrete, and the outside temperature was 108 degrees. Once we had struggled to back in, we found that the oleanders blocked access to the sewer connections for our site. Furthermore, the power box was mounted too far back in the stand and we could not connect a power cord at all. Again, due to oleanders, we had to park on the wrong side of the pad, or scrape up the side of the rig with no room for the pop-out. When we pulled out and returned to the office, and requested a refund, suddenly, there was a 50amp pull through space available. The manager was grumpy and let us know she was upset that she had had to work that morning, and had gotten hot and dirty (doesn't that come with the job?). Not wanting a repeat of the electrical connection problem, and another jaunt through the narrow lanes, we simply asked for a refund and left the park. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
April 2011
$38
Do not rely on GPS. Our brand new Garmin Nuvi had us at an incorrect location. When you get off at River Road Cutoff from the freeway, look for their sign and read what it says. We glanced at it as we went by but kept following the GPS, which had us on a wild goose chase. So, I'd say this place can be confusing to find, as are most of the parks off this old Needles Hwy. Gates close promptly at 5pm so be sure you have a gate code before office personnel go home. The lady who took our reservation was very nice. Lady checking us in was grumpy and ready to be done for the night (4:40pm). This place, in my opinion, is really not laid out well for typical overnight RV guests. It is mainly an owner-occupied resort, set up for owners in the park. At first they had us in a site way away from the pool and activity center although grumpy lady said it wasn't a bad walk to get to the pool. But, for grandparents toting a grandchild and all the stuff it takes for a child to go swimming, it was quite a walk. So, she reluctantly said there were a couple (more expensive) sites across from the pool and activity building. We checked them out and decided it would be easier on us to have one closer to the pool. The sites are essentially an open gravel field with hook ups: nothing else. Note: there is no cable TV available for overnight guests. There was a weathered wood picnic table on the driver's side so after we got hooked up we hauled it over to the right side to use. The pool, spa, game rooms, etc., were very nice. Husband says the pool was cold. Signs everywhere saying pool area and activity building (including laundry and showers/restrooms) closed at 8pm. That's kind of early for overnighters who need these type of facilities after 8pm. The restrooms at the activity building were marked "Kane" and "Wahane." After going back to my RV to use restroom, I was determined to find one at the activity building/pool area. Took a chance and went in the one marked "Wahane" and lucked out: it was the women's restroom! Opened another unmarked door and found it was a private shower area that smelled very badly in there. We showered in our RV. The advertised water slide and bounce house was not up as yet. They should say "seasonal" when they advertise this to people bringing children. There are a couple of basketball hoops inside the tennis courts with one inflated ball for the kids to use and the rest were old and deflated. No instructions as to where you might find another ball to use. I imagine the facilities are very convenient for people who live in the park models and have handy golf carts to drive around. But, this IS NOT for the overnight camper. I would not stay here again and prefer to stay at a place that was developed specifically for the campers passing through. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
February 2011
$33
If you want peace and serenity, this park is not for you. Apparently they have a policy for off-road vehicles but it is not enforced. There was a constant drone of motorcross bikes and dune buggies the entire weekend going in and out and around the park. Common courtesy and respect for each others enjoyment of the park does not exist. It's too bad, because this is a beautiful park and could have been very enjoyable. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
October 2010
$33
We visit Needles every year and tried this park for the first time. It is a park model park on the Colorado River that couldn't sell all the sites, so they converted some to RV sites. The entry is a little narrow and necessitates a wide turn by a big rig. Park is very clean and quiet. We found the residents to be friendly. The sites are red volcanic rock which are long enough to handle our 45' rig with a tow. All interior roads are paved. Utilities are modern and well placed. Some sites had a table, but ours did not, wish it had. Everything looks new as park is only 4 years old. The pool, which is not heated, is gorgeous. The spa was great after a long drive. Nice clubhouse with a big screen TV and entertainment games. I asked a resident if he knew how to access the WiFi as I forgot to get the access code. He called the manager, who was off duty, and she brought the code to me. That is great customer service! The WiFi is the best that we have had in a long time. This place worked great for us. We will return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$35
Lovely place but a mixture of vacation homes for boaters and 4 wheelers. Very very clean with lots of amenities but over night might feel like a sore thumb. We found it to be just fine as everyone was very friendly. It was pretty empty for RV's. Would stay again for sure. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$33
This park is ok. If you like to swim, the pool area is amazing. It's beautiful. We have two dogs that love to romp and hike. There wasn't much for them to do. There is a very small beach area where they could play, but it was under the condition that no one else was here (we understood this). The restrooms were very far away from our site. The site was completely gravel. We probably will not stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$15
Manufactured Home park that added RV spaces. The spaces are huge. The view is beautiful. Large pool, two hottubs, and kiddy pool. Tennis/basketball court, FREE gameroom, workout room. Would have given the park a 10 but pool not heated, hottubs were not kept even warm. Only after complaints by many rv'ers were they turned up some but not enough. Showers are just two small rooms not a bathhouse of any kind. Only 2 washers and 2 dryers. Still a nice place to stay. Staff very nice. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
November 2008
$32
Park is a manufactured homes park, that due to the economic downturn the owner turned 40 plus sites into a RV parking. Monthly rates are very good for what you get facility wise. The sites are very big, all red rock gravel with nice view of distant mountains and beautiful entry way with a gate. Pool with 2 heated spas and heated kiddie pool, exercise room, game room, tennis courts and practice golf nets all top notch. Office help is great. WiFi is sketchy but free and is being worked on.The only negative is that the large pool is not heated. ATV, four wheelers, two wheelers and the sand buggies are out and the noise is sometimes very loud and the park is noisy till way past quiet time, so that is why it was not rated higher. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com