223413 User submitted reviews online!!
Wakeside Lake RV Park (formerly Rainbow Lake RV Park) was rated 7 out of 10 based on 39 user reviews. Phone: (208) 356-3681
CGID981

Wakeside Lake RV Park (formerly Rainbow Lake RV Park)

Camp Information
Sites
60
Date of Stay
August 2014
Latest Rate
$25



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
1   2   3   2   7   9   9   9   4   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  no  yes  question  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2014
$25
This park has yet another owner. They've converted the lake for wakeboarding hence the new name Wakeside RV Park. When we arrived there was no one in the office, had to find a guy out spraying weeds so we'd know what spaces were 30 amp and what were 50 amp. Someone finally showed up about 2 PM to take our money. Wi-Fi was supposedly available but it was nonexistent. We stayed there because of family in the area. On our last night there two families came in about 10:30 PM and proceeded to put up a huge tent, unload and reload some of their supplies, trying to keep their kids, who were whiny and way tired occupied and must have pounded about 50 stakes into the hard as concrete dirt....note above it says this is a no tent campground. All this about 5' from our bedroom window. It took them over 2 hours to get quieted down and since there's no owner on site we really couldn't do anything about it. I don't know where we'll stay next time we're in the area, but it will not be there and we'll not be recommending it to anyone. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
August 2013
$17
Ok, where to begin...I will start by saying that their website is very misleading. Prices were different upon arrival. Parking spots were tight, semi level and not well maintained, and the supposed walking trail around the lake was almost non-existent. At least when we checked in, the girl at the front desk was "nice" enough to give us the website's monthly rate of $450, even though it is now $500. She just said, oh well, it's the owners fault for not changing the website. All she did was take our money and name, no phone number, no site number or check out day was recorded (this info is only recorded if you self register/pay after hours). Apparently, the park (and its website) recently changed ownership at the beginning of the year. Rainbow looks like it used to be a great park, but now the restrooms are not kept clean or stocked (hair, dirt, and paper constantly on the floor), weeds have overrun a lot of the RV sites. The sites are very tight and most people took up two sites. The trail around the lake is overrun with weeds (can't even walk 1/2 way around), and if you need help with anything - good luck finding genuine customer service here. We had a package delivered here and it was opened by management (even though it was also clearly marked with my name and site #). Then on top of that, since we were not at the park (gone for 3 days), they just left it under our RV and didn't even have the courtesy to tape it back up or leave us a note. When we asked about it, the girl at the office just said that the owner did it, you'll have to talk to him. We didn't even bother since we were leaving in a few days. Also, their laundry is the most expensive we've come across so far ($2 to wash and $2 more to dry). Oh, and Wi-Fi was only available within a 20 yard radius from the office (which covered about 3-5 of the sites). Overall, we would not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2013
$28?
WOW!! nice location on pond. This is a work in progress. No hand towels or toilet paper in the only restroom. Barking dogs at the monthlies. The truck camper on the ground looks bad. Sites were missing the covers on the elect plug in. A nice young lady checked us in and after the office closed we never saw any management on-site. Fairly level gravel sites and roads. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2013
$28
Interior roads were large stones and dirt, not gravel. WiFi signal was not available. While the staff was friendly, they too were unavailable. While we made reservations back in January, the park is set up on a 'first come, first serve' self-registration basis. We were informed that this campground changed ownership the beginning of 2013. We will not stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
Nice, reasonably priced park at $20/night. Wi-Fi worked good close to laundry and Verizon cell and MiFi worked great. The laundry was in a new building and only $1 to wash or dry. The park is all gravel with some picnic tables and trees. You can face a small lake in pull throughs. Only 30 amp which was ok in moderate temperatures. We stayed 4 days waiting to get into an RV park at West Yellowstone. The park never seems busy and there is some road noise, but it did not bother us. Definitely I would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2012
$20
This park is very inexpensive and worked perfectly for what we needed. We just stayed for one night on our way to Yellowstone. The lake is not for use in any way (other than viewing) by park guests. No fishing, swimming, etc., but the view is nice. Plenty of room at the sites and it appears that it is set up for hook ups on both sides of each site. They could squeeze in 2 units in each space but I can't imagine this area ever being this busy. Facility is very clean and quiet. For the money: great park. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
Our 2nd stay here. Priced very fairly at $20. The owner is a super nice lady, who is working very hard to make this a nice place. It is super clean, the laundry great and she said the honor system works very well. (Put your money into a secure box to pay for washer, dryer, snacks and souvenirs.) Some of the utilities, especially sewer are placed awkwardly. Wi-Fi was spotty while we were here, but worked well at the laundry. Nice views of the lake, but quite a bit of road noise from US 20 during the day. We certainly hope to stay here again next summer. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$20
What a bargain! Full hookups, nice and private bathrooms, beautiful view of the lake, and the cheapest laundry we have ever done ($1 to wash, $1 to dry) on the road. The wi-fi was not very good (reason I didn't give a 10), but we use mifi in those cases. We got great DISH reception. We were in site 22, and it was level. We definitely will try to stay longer the next time we are this way! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
We stayed here for a night in a 40’ class MH with a toad. The park is easy to get to & from Interstate 84. The park was quiet but there weren’t a lot of campers since it was the off season. The interior road and sites are gravel. Most of the park is fairly level. Not much privacy between the sites. Pretty close to being an open parking lot with just a few trees in the park. We were able to leave our toad hooked up in the site. They have full hook ups – water, electricity (50 AMP), & sewer. The sites had a campfire ring and outside table. Opening slides was easy as there isn’t much to interfere. Park’s WiFi was adequate for the night. Most, if not all sites offer a view of the southern sky to get satellite reception. No designated/fenced pet area. There were sufficient area (roads & paths) to walk the dogs. There were no bag dispensers in the park. We didn’t use the restrooms/showers or laundry room. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2012
$20
The RV Park is not fancy, but more than adequate for a one night or extended stay..we were here 6 nights and would definitely stay here again. It is an easy drive to Saint Anthony Dunes for atv riding, Yellowstone Park, Tetons National Park, Jackson Hole, Wyoming. The laundry and restrooms/showers are clean, the internet was great, tv several channels with our antennae. Christine, the owner, is very nice and more than willing to help in any way possible. Shade trees, large sized spaces, lake, nice area for walking. It is close to a highway, I'm a fairly light sleeper but never noticed the noise. Give it a try I think you will like it. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
This place is spotless and lovely. It's right on a private lake with a walking path around it. Unfortunately, NO swimming or fishing is allowed. Owners are very nice. Bathrooms and laundry are brand new and very clean. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Depending on your needs this is an ample park to explore the area. Rexburg is a nice town with Walmart and a couple of other grocery stores. Price is right at $20 a night, but it is a little unusual not to see anyone around that might be able to help you. As someone said, you pull in, pick your site (some not very level), all 30amp, put your $ in an envelope at the office & do your own thing. The laundry room & bathrooms are brand new and they are apparently working on the rest of the park. A nice lake next door but no fishing or swimming allowed according to the sign at the front office where you put your money. About 3/4 mile walk around the lake which is nice. Would stay here again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
Quite a surprise. Self check in. Level, gravel sites. Lake view. Spotless bathrooms and Laundry (honor system). Close to town. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
September 2011
$20
So here's the deal. You make a phone reservation and get an e-mail letter back thanking you. You get there to check in and no humans -- pick any site and put your fee in an envelope. It's a rough gravel parking lot with a couple dozen trees and two rows of narrow side by side sites defined only by the utility posts. The view is a beautiful lake next door. In the middle is a great new bathhouse/laundry/rec room. For overnight, maybe two, a great bargain. Otherwise, move on. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
I called this park because they were a Passport America park and because of a good review on this site. They are no longer associated with Passport America, however, their rates are only $20 per night for full hookup. They have free Wi-Fi which was fast when I had a connection. The internet connection seemed to drop out at random. They have side-by-side hookups, but were not being used that way which gave each site a large flat area to spreadout. You can park your RV or Trailer/5th wheel so the large window is facing the lake for a nice view. They accept all major credit cards. The park is clean and well kept; not your typical $20 per night campground. I would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
We made arrangements to spend the night but were unable to keep our reservation. Although we did not stay here I wanted to comment that the reservation system on line is easy to use. They do not require a CC in advance and respond quickly with an email confirmation. The owner told me that they just bought this RV park in Spring of 2011 and are working on improving it. The web site is top notch and the owner's email responses to me were prompt and very professional. I understand that the bathrooms and laundry have been upgraded. So sorry that we will not be able to experience this but are looking forward to when we can. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Very nice campground with large, level sites. New bathrooms and laundry are immaculate. Some road noise, but quieter at night. We had to leave a day earlier than we paid for and got a refund without question. We would return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
We stumbled on Rainbow Lake RV Park by accident. What a treat. Picked our own spot right by the lake. All the sites and roads are rough gravel right now, but they seem to be working on it every day. Laundry and showers immaculate. Wi-Fi was decent. Quiet, restful, and inexpensive. It won't take much more for this place to be a ten We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2011
$20
Thanks to the reviewers who mentioned the new owners and the upgrades here. We came back to Rainbow Lake, which was previously an awful dump . New showers and laundry room are super. They just need to put in more jacket hooks in the bathroom and a stool or shelf in the showers. No mention of Wi-Fi, but Verizon aircard and cell worked, and you get some Idaho TV stations on antenna. Nice to be able to choose own site. Most are level and very long, but if the place is ever full, rigs will be parked closely together. Good deal for Rexburg; be sure to see Bear World. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
This used to be a Passport America park but dropped the discount. No issue as the price is very fair for value received. Appears to be in the process of upgrading so hopefully the price will remain the same. Spotless clean and brand new restrooms and showers. Parking sites are large, level and all the utilities are new. The park is next to a major highway so there is road noise, but that is exchanged for easy access. Good value. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2011
$20
Perhaps my rating is high due to a bad experience the day before at another park but this place was recently re-done and is nice, quiet, spacious and has a new spick and span laundry and restroom building. I haven't met the new owners yet but check in was fast, easy and self serve. The sites are big and level (I think all are gravel, and I am partial to grass), but everything else is in good order. I thought this place was a thing of the past, but nope, they are here and trying to make a nice place. My hat and 20 dollars is off to them. Thank you!!!! PS: Wi-fi sporadic but works great at laundry room. Laundry room is big and clean. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
Someone got it right! I intended to stay for 2 nights but extended my stay to 10 nights. I had stayed here once before in the past (yawn), but wow, this place has undergone a major overhaul. The new owners have put in new water, sewer, and power lines and built a new bathroom and laundry facility. The bath and laundry facility is well designed and spacious. The shower stalls are big and have just the right amount of pressure. The toilet stalls are bigger than most. The laundry room is big! big! Big! The laundry room boasts 4 new washers and 4 new dryers. The laundry is on your honor and not coin operated like most. The Park supplies laundry soap for a small cost (again on your honor). The Wi-Fi was unpredictable but all the sites are large and pull through. I got to pick the site I wanted and the cost was only 20 dollars a night. The owners were great to talk to and very accommodating. He worked non-stop trying to get everything done. He said he would have everything done in a couple weeks (sure he will) maybe a couple of years. Without asking he brought us a picnic table and told us to come get him if we needed anything. All the sites were graveled and rolled solid. When my husband went to level our trailer it was nearly level where it was parked. I loved the place, the owners and the location (I was in Rexburg visiting my kids) I will be back every chance I get and I will always stay at Rainbow Lake RV. This is only the 4th RV Park I have stayed at this season between Vegas and Canada and the others were nothing to talk about and more money. Good Job Rainbow Lake! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2011
$20
When the new owners of this park get done with it, it will be a fantastic place to stay. We were here for almost a week and would do it again in a heartbeat, even though they're in a mess. The laundry is open and all brand new!! We didn't use the restrooms but they're also new and available. Everything is spotless. The reason I didn't go with a 10 is there isn't much gravel on the sites yet and it was rainy and muddy. Other than that, we had no complaints. Nice big spots, side by side hook-ups (wonderful not to have your neighbors sewer hose right outside your front door!) Has lots of trees. This will be a great park one day and we'll be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2011
$20
This is an older park that is being upgraded. If you use Google Earth to look at campground, it shows grass. All grass has been removed, and they are in the process of redoing everything, so everything is gravel right now. When done this will be a great area. Good place to spend a night or two. Rating will go up with grass areas, etc. Will stay again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$20
Kids graduating from BYU Idaho and desperate for a place to stay. Park is not officially open but an email got me a few nights at a cut rate due to some improvements taking place. They could only supply power due to the current state of construction but we were fair warned and told of several other alternatives but the park is so close to the University we couldn't pass it up. The place will be really nice when they are finished with updates. Large trees, huge sites (most at least 80 plus feet by 20) and a very nice lake to walk around. The owner lives on site and she is very sweet and accommodating. We will make it a point to stay here every time we visit or pass through. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
September 2010
$24
Lovely campground, lovely views, neat, clean as it possibly could be (considering a couple of tenants that were finally booted), friendly host, level grass sites. Would stay here again since it is close to everything we wanted to see. We visited BYU Idaho campus, West Yellowstone, Bear World and made par at one of the local courses. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$20
We stayed a week. The campground is in need of some updates but we were told by the host that it was the end of the season and upgrades are planned before 2011. The restrooms and showers were clean but worn (again I was warned and told they will be updated). The campground is close to everything yet just on the outskirts of town. It was quiet, friendly and the host told us we only had to pay $20 a night due to the season ending. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will stay again on our way back through to Canada. We saw and used 4 showers/bathrooms not one like was said in another review. Anyway, a nice friendly place. Well worth the $. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2010
$28
This is a one shower, one bathroom RV park. The sewers are open with no screw fittings to attach to. The dogs run all over the place and little clean up by the dog people! The RV dog people amaze me in my 1-year of full timing. Very few clean up after their dogs, and they always seem to let them do their business in someone else's space! How inconsiderate can you get? We were actually chased into our RV by the neighbors dog right after we started setting up. We had to yell many times to get them to call their dog off! The owners do not make anyone adhere to the leash law policy. If you have PassPort America you can stay for $15, but if it is raining or wet you will need 4x4 to get out! Will not stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2009
$25
A "self-serve" operation when we were there. No management on site, but the check-in instructions were easy to understand. Looked like a couple long-termers were parked there, and only two other campers were there the day/night we stayed. Close to the highway but not too noisy. Water and electric worked fine. The bathrooms were old and could use some sprucing up, but functioned okay. Water was hot and good pressure. We would stay again. An RV dump is available. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
Very nice campground for the money: Passport America. The people were nice and the area was enjoyable. The park did need some mowing. We would stay again if in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2009
$15
It was convenient to US20 and had a nice lake - but you could not use it. You could only look at and walk around it. Only had 30 amp electric even though it advertises for big rigs. They do fit nicely in pull throughs. No pads, no tables, some areas had large ruts so probably bad after a rain. If you are only using as a stop for 1 night, probably worth the $15. Looks like owner has home at rear of property so is sort of on site. His kids did the mowing, watering and cleaning the restrooms (that should tell you something). We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2009
$28
Stayed here several times over the years. It has a nice laid back atmosphere. No overzealous manager anxious to get your money the second you pull in, just a simple self registration envelope and you can usually pick your own site. Oh yeah, very spacious compared to all other RV Parks. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2007
$30
What a DUMP!! Place was deserted, bathrooms were trashy (only one for each sex) and housed in a shack, office shack hasn't seen life in ages. You leave your money in an envelope. Seemed that only Passport America members and big rig owners who had no place else to go, plus a few residents, were the only ones here, and not by choice. The PA rate is $15 for FHU and not even worth that. If we were really desperate again , we might stay here for the $15 , but there are much nicer places an hour or so away...parks that actually have managers on site. Tis place is an embarrassment to RVing. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2007
$10
We just stopped by for one night as we were passing through. Check in was no problem. Sites are kind of in a park like setting with trees and a lake. No real rv pads of any sort when we were there. Passport price made it well worth stopping by. I don't know that there is a whole lot to do in Rexburg to make it a destination, but if you wanted to stay a few days, it would be fine. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2007
$21
Most of what was stated before is still accurate. Sites are side-by-side, mostly large, level and grassy, no amenities, some trees (including some trees in the middle of pull-through areas), water/elec hookups at most sites. The sites are aligned N-S so our satellites worked. Signed ourselves in at the "office." At the P/A price (2 day limit) this would have been a decent place to stay. At Good Sam rates, it was way too expensive. But it's the only one that we could find close to St. Anthony to visit family. It almost filled up by dark. It's close to the freeway and a decent driving day from or to Yellowstone, but next trip we'll probably go back out to the dunes area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2007
$13
Stopped here on the way to Yellowstone in early May. The place was deserted. It is clean and the site is fairly level. Until May 20th the rates are half, after that if you have passport America, you get half off. Overall, a pretty basic place to get WE or FU site for low $$. It was clean with lots of nice green grass and trees. Man-made lake is nothing to get excited about and the sign says all you can do is walk around it. I wouldn't hesitate to stop again for an overnighter if I was in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
July 2005
$15
Park is not as advertised. Good for an overnight stay, but not much else. The park is not being maintained. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2005
$22
We camped in the summer of 2005. It is under new management. New owners do not own lake. The lake is now off limits to swimming and fishing (except for "family" members). The front office was never open the week we were there. The Manager was available by phone only. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2002
$16
The sights are close together but I've never seen it crowded. The entire campground is grass except for the two gravel roads. The older couple that run the place are great, The husband guides you to your spot and then helps you back in. It actually is on a small lake you can fish for rainbow trout. This is a great place to stop if you are headed to Yellowstone. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com