221611 User submitted reviews online!!
Goosenecks State Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (435) 678-2238
CGID9817

Goosenecks State Park

Camp Information
Sites
Unlimited
Date of Stay
March 2014
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
no
50amp
no
Water
no
Sewer
no
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
no
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   3   2   8   9   7   7   7   10   1   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  no  no  no  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  question  no  no  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
March 2014
$0
Rated for the views and the ambiance of a great boondocking location. Very quiet, remote. Parking 20 yards from the rim of the canyon afforded a great "from porch" view of sunsets. Bathroom cleanliness was OK; a typical park outhouse kind of toilet. Did have a Navajo teenager trying to sell handmade jewelry in the park several hours a day. Try to pick a visit period when not too windy. That could un-nerve some. A drive in your toad on the Moki-Dugway drive up to the mesa top to the North is well worth the trip but a little scary. Not for motorized campers or coaches. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
October 2013
$0
What can I say -- this is a big plot of land, with a great view of a 1500 drop canyon. The road to the park is good, until you move off to the "camping area". The road on that is the worst we've encountered. The park IS free, so you get what you pay for. We had a beautiful evening the first night, beautiful sunset, etc. The next day we explored Monument Valley area. When we got back to camp, the winds began. NEVER have we been more frightened!!!!!! IF we use the cg again, we'd park further from the edge. We've been in 85 mph winds before, but this was worse. Spent most the night worrying that we'd be blown off the edge!!!!!! As someone else said, if you have children, make sure you have them under control......the edge does NOT have railings ......it's a sheer drop. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
September 2012
$1
We really enjoy boondocking but this state park was awful. It was packed with RVs and day users. The toilet was filthy. We had a hard time even getting out of there with our 40' motorhome. We have seen better views elsewhere and that's exactly what we did - moved elsewhere. It's also a very dangerous place for children. Please keep watch on them. Even though it's free it wasn't enough incentive to try and stay - even if we could have found a spot. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$1
Actually free, but can't put $0 for a nightly rate. The "campground" is really a VERY large dirt parking area on the ridge of the San Juan River. The canyon looks just like you see on the web and in magazines. It looks even better at sunset and sunrise. There are vault toilets (yuck!), garbage cans, and a shelter with a picnic table. We ended up being here all by ourselves. Once the few buses and cars of daily visitors filtered away, we were left in solitude to watch the lightning show in the distance and listen to the river 1000 feet down below. We heard no noise from anywhere and only occasionally saw a few headlights in the distance from overnight offroaders. The sky was overcast so no stargazing for our overnight stop. The town of Mexican Hat is a few miles away, but it's best to be completely self sufficient out here. This location is very exposed so be prepared for a sudden rainstorm, extreme heat, and wind. After all, it IS the desert! My only complaint is that the vault toilets are not serviced often enough, which makes for interesting smells from the vent tubes if the wind blows just right. However, considering the $0 cost, it's only a minor complaint. The views were worth the trip anyways. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2011
$1
Fantastic place. No facilities except for a "hole in the ground" toilet that you do not want to use even when desperate. Fabulous view and at night you can experience the rear phenomenon of seeing the stars without light pollution. Remember: No hook-ups. Just you and whichever facilities that you bring along with you. Nightly rate is $0 (free) but this can't be entered into system so I have entered $1. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2011
$1
Actually, $0. This is a tiny state park with a big, big view of the San Juan river canyon. There are no campsites and the bathrooms are simply composting latrines. You set up camp wherever you like in the gravel parking lot, which extends along the canyon rim, a thousand feet above the river. There are four picnic tables along the rim. It was so windy the night we stayed, that we decided to move on in the middle of the night, being so close to the canyon rim. Even so, we will return here gladly. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2010
$0
The park is on a canyon rim looking down hundreds of feet to a river below. No fees. Very quiet at night with great views of the stars. A good paved road in. A moderate Verizon signal and unlimited parking, although somewhat stony and rocky. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
February 2010
$1
AWESOME views!! Pit toilets but nothing else. There are 4 picnic tables but an unlimited number of camping sites. I had great ATT cell service and weak Verizon internet. Mexican Hat is closest for fuel (including diesel) and there is a water spout at the Shell station. The nearest LP I could find was almost to Blanding (!) about 50 miles so come to camp on full! DO NOT try to take your rig up on UT 261 north!! It is 4 miles of mostly single lane, 10 per cent grade and very curvy. I did see an 18 wheeler going up it but it is illegal. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$1
The best boondocking location in the US is Gooseneck State Park in Utah near Mexico Hat. Do a Google search: it's located a few miles north of Monument Valley. (N37.17452 W109.92640) You can park as close to rim of the Canyon (as nice as Grand Canyon) as you want (?) to. Then go (take your tow vehicle) up the "Mountain" on route 261. Turn left at the first dirt road for a view from the top. (N37.23307 W109.99329) Also visit the "Garden of the Gods" at the foot of the mountain. Neither is a trip to take with any big rig: only the tow. If you have time, drive on to the Glen Canyon river. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
November 2008
$0
This is a beautiful spot to dry camp if you are fully self contained. The views are amazing. There are no designated camp sites (the web page says 4, but we didn't see any), and only a couple of pit toilets. But, there is plenty of area to camp without being near anyone. You can park right at the edge of the world... if you dare! Beyond the parking lot the road contains sharp rocks, so drive with caution. There is good bicycling on the highway, at least in November when there is no traffic. The Moki Dugway and Valley of the Gods are nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com