215219 User submitted reviews online!!
Cross Winds Family Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 46 user reviews. Phone: (336) 853-4567
CGID9828

Cross Winds Family Campground

Camp Information
Sites
55
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$27



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
yes
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
yes
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   10   10   10   10   9   9   9   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  question  question  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2014
$27
Price reflects six day stay. Roads coming into the park to the office and around the pool are paved. Most of the interior roads are also paved. Sites are gravel and good sized in length and width. Excellent Cable TV. Wi-Fi only had one day it was a little slow, otherwise no complaints. Most sites have trees, some don't. Our site was unlevel side to side two inches. Does allow campfires. Easy in and out with a HDT and trailer (60 ft. combo) We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$36
Friendly hosts. Some sites have shade, some don't. This park is working to add more sites. We found a few short hiking trails and there was an area to ride our bikes. We will return to this park again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2014
$18
We needed an easy to get to campground for one night on our way home off of I-85. This place is perfect. It is quiet, laid out well, and the owners are the nicest southern people around. We really enjoyed our last night in our RV after being gone from home 2 months. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2013
$36
We asked for a site with trees, and we got even more than we asked for. It was a wonderful site (#A-10), lots of trees, almost felt like we were in the woods at a national or state park instead of in a private campground. The downside of that is you have to contend with mosquitoes, but Off helps. The site was unlevel and we had to use leveling blocks under the dualies, but once we got the coach level, we loved it. Would definitely go back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$36
This place is perfect for us, the bathrooms and showers are clean and neat. The park is clean, most of the park is paved (spaces gravel), the staff is wonderful, they do not bother you unless you are a rule breaker. Wi-Fi is plenty fast, cellphone signal great (close to I-85). Firewood is 5 bucks for a big generous bundle of good split hardwoods that burns good and great for campfire cooking. Trees are thin on some sites for satellite users. Pool is small, but very clean. Fishing pond is nice and clean. This is the best campground Overall, I have ever been to and this will be my go to spot close to home. You must have a drivers license to drive a cart here and they will check and if you break the rules here they will make you leave. Garbage cans at every site that are emptied everyday. They have a playground as well for the kiddies... Huge spots. There is no trash laying around in this park, everything is very clean. Park is extremely quiet at night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
The I-85 construction including the exits, makes going to this park's website for directions a must. Do not trust your GPS! The gravel road in the park is hard packed and level as well as the front pull-through sites which are quite long and wide. We had no problem leveling, setting up our 40ft Class A with 4 slides and awning. There was plenty of room for our toad to stay hooked up since we were only staying one night. There are no shade trees in this area which makes setting up your satellite easy. Along with the 50amp full hookups, you get a picnic table and fire ring. Bathroom, laundry and pool were all very clean and well maintained. Staff was very friendly and helpful. Sprint phone, hotspot and 3G worked well, did not use the park WiFi. Even though it is right off 85, there is no road noise. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2013
$36
After having to leave one park due to power issues, we drove two hours to this park and were pleasantly surprised by it's peaceful setting, inviting pool, and clean restrooms. It's close to the interstate and just perfect for a one night stop. Park is wooded with a nice walking trail. Owners are friendly and accommodating. We had a large pull-through site with a nice picnic table and good 50 amp service. We hope to return for a longer stay. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$36
Gravel roads, section B is on a hill. Most of the spots will require leveling blocks. The fishing pond is situated "outside" the park under some high voltage power lines. Great bathrooms and playground for younger children. Very nice and helpful owners. Best deal on firewood ever, a huge pile for $5. Still working on their game and fun room though. No store, but Walmarts are local. Country Roads RV is about 20-25 minutes away. Great power supply control, full hook ups. Full timers in section A. Highway 85 is only a few thousand feet away, but you really just hear the truck tire noise. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2013
$32
Nice park with easy access to I-81 without a lot of interstate noise. It is just a 10 minute drive to Salisbury with good food and a few interesting sites to see. The downtown has some neat shops. The pull through sites were mostly wooded and very large and mostly level. The staff is friendly and helpful. I would highly recommend a stay here-even for just overnight and back on the interstate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$34
When I arrived, the check in lady was very friendly. I was impressed with the landscaping. The campground is well groomed. I was given a pull through, which was very nice since there was storms coming and I had to quick get set up. It stormed most of the day; therefore, the Wi-Fi didn't work the best, but still worked. I stayed in the A section, which was very wooded. The sites are very large throughout the campground. All the facilities look relatively new and are well kept. On my way out the check-in lady made a point to wave good bye to me. There was no lights in the a-section, which made walking my dog in the dark difficult; however, that is one's preference. The "new" fishing pond is very small. I didn't get to try it out since it was storming. I really enjoyed my visit and will be back. This is a small park,; however, they have nice facilities, nice playground and overall are very friendly. Of all the campgrounds in the Charlotte area that I have stayed in, this is one of my favorite. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2012
$17
This was a very nice, new park. We had good 50 amp service, water, and sewer. Price reflects the PPA price in cash. We called ahead as instructed and the nice lady gave us directions to the park because I-85 was under construction. When the new exit if finished this park is going to be very easy to enter, although we had no problem finding and driving to the park with the temporary instructions. We could hear traffic from I-85, when outside, but not inside. Staff were very nice and helpful. Had some issues with leveling the rig, but we could have requested a different site. We were in a pull-through and had plenty of room to keep the car hitched up. We will stay there again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
August 2012
$34
While the campground lists 55 sites, about half of them are for seasonal rentals. Sites in Section C, the pull through ones, are not shaded and nor level. In fact, the first site we were assigned was so unlevel we had to request another. While the pool is nicely equipped with furniture, its size is very small. Front desk staff efficient and pleasant. The Wi-Fi is very slow. Would use again, because of its proximity to activities we frequent. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2012
$17
Have camped here twice this summer. Staff is friendly. Rate is Passport America rate. According to my spouse, laundry facilities are excellent. Only negative is sites could be more level. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2012
$34
This is a very nice, clean park that's only been open for about 3-4 years now. The owner was very friendly and accommodating as we were running late arriving and she remained late after hours to help us get checked in when we arrived. We have stayed here twice, always in their "transient" section near the front since we were just stopping for an overnight stay. The sites in this area are big, level pull-through sites. They have what appears to be very nice shaded sites in the rear of the park. The free Wi-Fi connection is excellent, among the best of any park we have ever visited. We will definitely return when we are in the area again. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2012
$34
Small park, clean, not lots to do. Swimming pool is smaller than ours at home! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$17
This is a wonderful, family oriented campground. It was a delight to find level, pull through sites. Easy to set up and rest after a long days drive. Nice pool, beautiful landscaping and very friendly host. After we left, we realized we had left three rods & reels. The owners found them and put them aside for us, when we called to inquire. The owners went over and above to return our rods and reels back to us. It's nice to find owners that are so friendly and caring. We will be back and highly recommend this campground. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2012
$36
We spent one night here after picking up our new fiver. The park was pretty empty and it stormed during our stay. Site was level and good size with some privacy from the other sites. Easy to get around the park. Water pressure was good. Cable TV and antenna worked fine. Nice wooded park. Staff in the office was friendly. A little difficult to find due to recent road construction around the Interstate. Had a number of great sites for over night stays with easy access, close to the front of the park. We'll be back when the weather warms up. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2011
$31
Very clean and well laid out park. Very large sites and fairly level with hookups in good location. Wi-Fi was fast. Sites were gravel but roads were paved. Very friendly management and was sincerely concerned that all our needs were met. We were here with a rally. Considering how close it was to the highway, you still had a feel for being "out in the woods". Noise was very minimal. Will stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$34
This is not our first stay in this very clean and friendly campground. It is well maintained; and we appreciate the fact that rules are in place and enforced. A lot of campgrounds claim that; but we feel very safe and welcome in this park, because of it. This means that it makes your camping experience and your neighbor's, pleasant and relaxing. We rank this campground in our Top 5. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
We have never stayed in an RV park that was as un-friendly as this one. The I-85 Interstate noise was unbearable and the finding of the park was very hard. The noise will only get worse. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
This is a new campground beginning its 3rd full year of operation. We stayed here 3 nights. It’s more scenic that most with lots of trees, spacious campsites, and wooded space between campsites. All of which is offset by the constant I-85 noise. Our site was not level, and we needed boards under our fully-extended jacks. The overly zealous “rules administration” was offensive. We received a warning at check-in about being sure that campfires are put out completely. When the owner saw me with a 15’ hose and nozzle in hand, he stopped to ask: “You’re not going to wash your motor home; are you?” Our return is doubtful. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2011
$35
It will be a extremely nice campground when it is completed. Owner was real friendly. One of the hosts could have been a little more friendly when fussing that our camper wasn't where it was suppose to be when the owner told us we were fine. There was quite a bit of highway noise coming form I-85 and the noise from the road construction was nerve racking but that's not the campgrounds fault. Wi-Fi does not work in A section yet because they still don't have the part to route it there. If we used the laptop we had to go over to the shelter. We will probably stay here again once it's completed and more established. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
Very convenient in and out of this park. Has a gracious staff. This is an excellent stopping point nearby to I-85. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$34
Nice park, easy on/off I-85 with plenty of room between sites in most areas. Friendly staff, neat clean facilities, WiFi currently available in front "C" loop but expansion is planned. A little highway noise in front loop "C" but other areas are available if that's a problem. Will put this one on the "keeper' list and return when in the area. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
April 2011
$17
CrossWinds is at exit 85 on I-85, near Linwood, just south of Lexington, NC. It is only several miles off I-85, with 5 easy turn to get there. A great campground that is only 2 years only with swimming pool, great bathhouse and laundry. Roads in section A & C are paved, section B is rocked. There is a combination of tent and RV sites. All RV sites are very spacious and would handle any size rig. All RV sites have full hookups and cable TV. Wireless internet is good, at least at sites near the office. Owner/Operators are super nice. We stayed two nights at the Passport rate $17. The only reason for rating a 9; there is quite a bit of road noise from I-85. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
March 2011
$34
A really nice place to stay! Sites are very large, and the ones close to office are level. Some in trees are not level. Very quiet even though Interstate 85 is nearby. Design of hookups is well thought out. Great play area for children. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$34
This is a nice and relaxing place to stay. The campground is fairly new and is really coming along. We parked in the C-Section and had no problem getting a signal on the dish. Most of the sites are in wooded areas which would make it hard to get a signal. We found everyone friendly and the staff pleasant. It got down in the 20's at night but had no problem with the water freezing. We are often in the area and this was our first time to park at Cross Winds. We will use this campground every time we are in this area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2010
$26
Very nice park run by great couple. There are clean, modern fairly level gravel sites that are roomy. Shower/bath and laundry were new and very clean. Did not use pool, but it looked nice. Park wi-fi worked well as did our Verizon Air Card. We have AT&T and T-Mobile phone service and both were strong. We would return if in the area. Price above is average for 3 nights Passport America and 4 nights regular rate. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$26
Wow! What a great campground and great campground owner! Variety of sites – wooded or clear, pull-throughs and back-ins – all appeared level and all had plenty of room between sites. The whole place is spotless, and they have the cleanest laundry room we’ve ever seen, although a couple of washers were out of order. When we made the reservations, we mentioned needing Wi-Fi and they put us right up near the office, so reception was great. The pool was clean and pretty. The playground and horseshoe pits were well-maintained. The owners also went to the effort of putting up blue and white “Campground” signs with arrows at the difficult intersections between the interstate and the campground. Rate shown is an average of 3 nights at full price and 3 nights with CC USA discount. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2010
$19
Rate based upon Passport America. Section A and B are wooded, we stayed in A. Lots shade, nice large spaces, level sites. Owners were very friendly and accommodating. A clean, well run park and we agree with all of the other positive comments. We would return here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$34
GREAT Campground!! It is laid out well, very clean and family friendly. Will be back soon! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2010
$35
This campground should be the standards in the camping industry. The sites are level and spacious. Trees are between each site for a lot of privacy from your neighbor. All facilities were spotless and in great working condition. The owners are always around and very friendly. Activities were planned all weekend for everyone and a nice church service on Sunday. If you are in this area, you have got to stay here. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2010
$36
This two year old park has level gravel sites that are big. (We have a 42 footer.) The staff is great and things are very quiet. The open sites offer Wi-Fi and the tree lined sites give you lots of shade. The pool was very clean, as was the laundry. The Lexington area is known for bar-b-que. We will be back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
June 2010
$36
Very new place that's just getting started but, will be great as he progresses. Between Winston-Salem and Salisbury, NC it is a great location for locals to enjoy without having to drive so far. Everything from the big rigs to tents when we were here. It's a peaceful place if you like that sort of thing! We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2010
$30
The owners make this park: they are VERY accommodating and friendly, and like other posters have said, they know what other RVers really want and need. This campground is new and most of the main roads are paved, the bath houses are new and spic-n-span clean, as is the new pool and furniture. While the location appears "out in the middle of nowhere" we ventured out about two exits on I-85 and found dining, a nail salon, Coldstone Creamery and a nice movie theater, so while there are no real activities at the campground you are within civilization. We were in the area and found this campground to be a real find. My thoughts on improvements would be to continue with the game room first (pool table, ping pong table or old fashioned pinball machine), and a small room with a treadmill and some weights would be used far more than a fish pond under a row of power lines/towers. Anybody passing through Lexington or Salisbury, this is your stop! We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2010
$17
Park has friendly check-in. It's easy to find, and has wonderful paved roads for most of the campground. Regular rate is $34, Passport (no reservations, cash only) rate is $17. Transient pull-through sites (and several others I noticed) weren't very level and I could not level in two different sites (my jacks have 9" of travel.) It had rained quite a bit: the in-ground water faucet for the site was under water and the sites were a little muddy due to red dirt showing here and there. The sites weren't completely covered in gravel and the rain made quite the mess with the red dirt. Since the two sites we tried weren't very level, my jacks had quite a bit of pressure on them and they sunk into the ground. Had to dig out my jack pads. This could be a really great campground if the site issues were addressed. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
January 2010
$16
This was an excellent find. We were passing thru and found this park. Signage to the park needs to be a little better but the park is great. The owners were very nice. The park is far enough off the freeway, that there was not traffic noise. We would highly recommend this park. The park is fairly new and they are currently digging a fishing pond. It is a Passport America park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$16
This is a very nice, clean RV park. Run by a family that are RV'ers, so they know what other RV'ers want and expect. Owners very friendly and helpful. Nice large sites, and you don't pay extra for 50 amps! We stayed two nights with Passport America, so a very good price. No traffic noise, nice walking within the park. They are expanding. Good Wi-Fi and TV. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2009
$32
We were very impressed with this park. It is really less than two years old and I am betting that the owner is a long time camper. The park layout is wonderful. They have all types of sites from pull throughs for the longest rigs to wooded tent sites. All the sites are spacious, with gravel and full hookups including cable. The rustic tent site area even has a dish wash sink set up for campers to use. The pool was closed but very nice. The campground is less than a mile off of I-85. It has lots of area to ride bikes, a small playground, horse shoes, at-site trash pickup, and a nice meeting area for groups. The only reason that I gave it a nine was that the loop B roads; where we camped, were not paved. This campground is close to Salisbury NC and about 25 minutes from Concord and the speedway. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
This is a new campground, still growing and very nice and clean. Plus they have nice, helpful staff! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
August 2009
$32
As I sit by the pool writing this review. I have to say I have enjoyed my stay here. The owners are very friendly and helpful. They have three sections a, b and c . The A-section is semi shaded with level sites and good room between has paved road all around. The B-section is shaded sites are level and has a gravel road to sites good room between them. The C-section has no shade sites are near the pool. It is an easy place to get to right of I-85 exit 83. All sites have fire ring table full hook ups and cable about 70 channels. The Wifi was strong at the pool and in c-section some a and b section sites close to the pool. The campground has some road noise from I-85 but not bad. Salisbury and Lexington are not far away lots to see in both towns. Also High Rock Lake is near. We will come again. Keep in mind this is a new campground and the owners are working hard to make it better every day. They have really made my trip here very good. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
A great campground, with great owners. The pool was a little small, I wish it were larger. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
It's hard to believe this campground has only been around a year. It is truly an excellent place with great owners who care about your camping experience. The campground itself is broken into 4 sections. Section A has a paved road and several pull through sites. These sites are mostly shaded. Section B are all back-in sites and shaded, but the road is gravel (for now). Section C is all pull through, but gravel and mostly not shaded. The last section is for tents and is shaded. The campground has a very nice pool and bathhouse for guests. Overall, the campground was very clean and although it is very close to the highway, I never could hear any traffic. Wireless service only appears to work in the C section although they have plans to expand the coverage. Cable TV offered about 70 channels and worked well. They also had a playground for the kids. We really enjoyed our stay here and plan to camp here again several time this year. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
We stayed here for 3 nights in a travel trailer. Campground was very clean. Owners were very friendly and helpful. Sites are very spacious. Bath house was very, very clean. The location is very convenient to local historical attractions. Their is a playground & swimming pool for kids to enjoy. In the future they plan to add a "Game Room" and "Fishing Lake". WiFi available at some sites but not all at this time. They are working on making WiFi available to all sites. Make sure you request a site that has WiFi accessibility when making a reservation if this is a must for you. Overall this is a very nice, clean, new campground. It is definitely family friendly. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$30
This is a new park with great accommodations. All of the sites are large, your choice of shade or open. There are currently 55 sites, they are adding on with a plan to get to 150. Fairly close to I-85 so there is some highway noise, not bad though. The front porch at the check-in house is large and has rocking chairs, just a warm country feeling all the way around. We would definitely stay here again, the hospitality is wonderful. Just make sure to get the right turn by the gas station to get here. There's a small blue campground sign, they are working on getting something better up to notify the wary traveler. Wi-Fi worked great where we were for those who are looking for that. By the way, this is a BBQ haven around here for those of you who like to chow!! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$32
This is a new campground, open about one year. Paved roads, gravel sites, large sites, well maintained. Do not use Google Maps to find this campground, Go to website for directions. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com