220021 User submitted reviews online!!
Thousand Trails - La Conner was rated 6 out of 10 based on 18 user reviews. Phone: (360) 466-3558
CGID9889

Thousand Trails - La Conner

Camp Information
Sites
316
Date of Stay
July 2014
Latest Rate
$0



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Ocean)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
9   5   4   9   6   8   1   1   5   8   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
question  question  yes  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
July 2014
$0
Nice park in a wood setting. Quiet and we had a site with full hookups. I have Verizon and could sometimes text but there was no phone or Internet reception. Television channels are reruns of old sitcoms. Hot tub was being worked on. They have an outdoor movie on the weekends and serve breakfast and lunch. There are planned activities. We are Thousand Trails member so there is no daily cost to us. We will return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2014
$1
First my positive points, the park is beautiful. Lots of trees and shade, but also open areas. Two playgrounds for kids. Mini golf (bring your own balls or buy them at the guard shack). Decently sized sites, most of which would accommodate our 33' foot fifth wheel. As TT members, the cost was free. The cons, for me, were no cell service, no Internet, no satellite reception. It is not the park's fault that there is only minimal cell service in the area. We had at most 1-2 bars of regular cell service some of the time, and no service the rest of the time. We were experiencing some family issues at the time of our visit, and not to be able to depend on phone service was a problem. We use Verizon. There is Wi-Fi at the family clubhouse. We were able to get a strong connection to the Wi-Fi router, but the router did not connect to the Internet with any regularity. In six days, I was able to connect only once. There is a sign in the clubhouse that says the Internet Wi-Fi is working, but that was not my experience. The grounds are heavily forested, so getting satellite reception is difficult. There are a few sites that can pick up signals....maybe 40 out of 300+ sites. If you are familiar with Thousand Trails campgrounds, you will know that these are first come first serve sites. Also, although they advertise full hookups, not all sites off this. In this park, about 55 sites have full hookups. These sites are closer to the road (although the road noise is not bad at all). The trade off is you can have either full hookups, or beach view, or satellite reception, or none of the above - with the exception of the rental cabins. If you know this in advance, you will not be disappointed. My interactions with the campground staff was blah. They were not particularly friendly but they were not rude either. It didn't appear that anyone really enjoyed their job. There is salt water beach access, but it is a rocky beach (think lots of barnacle covered rocks). There is no sand or swimming areas. I gave this campground a mediocre rating overall. The setting is beautiful, and would rate it closer to 8. The amenities were probably closer to 6, with the exception of the advertised Wi-Fi availability, which I would rate a 1. We will probably not return. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 4 / 10 ]
July 2014
$59
We drove through campground and decided not to stay. It was very dusty and overgrown with bushes. Nice staff but the place is over-rated. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2014
$1
There are many water/electric sites nestled in the woods of this campground. However, there are some sites that are right along the Bay. These are, of course, the most popular and during busy times there’s a waiting list for them and at 10:00 each morning some happy campers (members of Thousand Trails only) can check in at the ranger station and be told that they can move to one of these sites. The very best sites, in my opinion, are near the Activity Center. They don’t have sewer hookups, but they make up for it with great views. I noticed that several motorhomes pull into these sites head first to take full advantage of the views. There are several sites with full hookups. Most are woodsy sites but a few have nice views of the bay. Supposedly, we could get a satellite TV signal there as well, but I had no luck on that front. The view of the water from the Activity Center is available to all and is simply wonderful. My Verizon phone was iffy at best with 1 or 2 bars of signal strength. Using a signal booster I could get a reliable cell signal and even manage a slow, but usable, data connection at least part of the time. Another reason to hang out at the Activity Center is that it has Wi-Fi. It’s not great Wi-Fi but with a little patience a person can get their Internet fix there. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
April 2014
$1
Very woodsy. We had a back-in spot and trees on 3 sides. The site was fairly level and large. Big family and adult lodges, pool which we did not use and weak Wi-Fi only in the adult lodge. Close to LaConner and its shops and restaurants and we used it as a base to explore Deception Pass on Whidbey Island and to take the ferry to Friday Harbor. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$42
This was our destination for this trip, we stayed here for four nights. The check in was pretty quick, the staff was friendly and helpful. We are not members of TT which meant that we are suppose to be in the "retail" section. We'll as luck would have it that part of the CG wasn't open at this time. We got to pick our spot! Driving through to the pull through spots I found that the road was narrow and the turns we're tight. We found a spot near the end of the road which also gave us a slight, very slight view of the water. Even this site was tight and required some maneuvering to get it right for room on both sides for our slides. Next was the leveling, the site was on a hill and required quite a number of leveling blocks. Later I noticed that all the sites near us had the same issue when it came to leveling. We spent a lot of time walking around the park with our dog (chocolate lab). First it's a heavily wooded area, it's reasonably well maintained. It's clean and safe. We spent a lot of time at the water which allowed dogs. We did hear from a few of the members that were camped around us that the retail area is really bad, I don't want to comment beyond that as we didn't use or see it. Would we come back here? If we couldn't find a different suitable place. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
August 2013
$47
Found this park on internet and called ahead for reservations. We were told the park was FHU. When we arrived, we discovered it was a Thousand Trails park. We are not TT members. We were directed to our space only to find out there was no sewer hookup. When we inquired, we were told: "That's only for our members." Why were we not told this fact when we called ahead? "We're not responsible for what the reservations clerk tells you." Then, they had the nerve to ask if we'd like to talk to someone about a membership. Are you kidding me? Why would I want to be a member if this is the way you treat your guests? Couldn't get out of there fast enough the next day. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 1 / 10 ]
July 2013
$1
We have been TT members for 30 years and this park is the absolutely the worst park we have stayed in. This is what you will find & experience at this park: Poor electrical power - we had to move twice and at best we had 111 coming in to our rig (at times we had to place our refrigerator on gas to watch TV. Complained to staff but they told us that is the best power they had (maybe other site location were not as bad) Next, the restroom and showers were extremely dirty and not kept clean. Interior roads are very tight and extremely dusty. Propane cost was not competitive – go to Indian casinos for best prices. Park did have Wi-Fi but the speed was terrible slow. In summary, this park is really run down whereas it is one of the earlier TT established parks in the Pacific Northwest. Resort is on an Indian Reservation which is leased and not owned (could explain why the park is notably depreciated with no sustaining improvements in years). We stayed 3 weeks but would have moved if not for relatives in the area. Anyone considering a campground membership should visit this park for a looksee before investing in TT. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2012
$15
Could not find a full hook-up site to fit our rig. Could not get satellite service and only 1 channel via antenna. No cable, wi-fi was unusable, and our Sprint & Verizon were very, very slow, our AT&T was out of service due to unrelated circumstances. We ended up leaving our RV and going into Seattle for a couple of days and then cut our stay in half and moved on due to the poor connectivity. If you don't have to work and do not require connectivity and don't really care about television, then the park is very treed and serene. There is a nice walk along the Puget Sound, and the location is very convenient to La Conner & Anacortes. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2012
$0
Thousand Trails member rate. The preserve leases land and shares beach with the Swinomish Indian Tribal Community. Staff was friendly and helpful but not detail oriented. Restrooms, showers and laundry were clean and neat. La Conner is a tourist town with decent restaurants and limited services. The campground is one of the older with narrow lanes and some tight curves/turns. We found 50 amp service in COHO 302, along with sewer. Not all sites have sewer and some of the hills are pretty steep. Sites are large enough to navigate easily and with plenty of space to set up with some privacy. Overall this is a pleasant park. Whidbey NAS is not far and a variety of military aircraft pass overhead. The rating reflects lack of communication between staff members and on-site reservation mess-up. We would definitely return here when we are back in the State of Washington. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2012
$1
Price quoted is TTN Member price. Very poor air TV, Verizon voice and data. Very slow free Wi-Fi in family lodge. No pool, but enclosed hot tub. Pickleball, miniature golf. Limited full hook up sites and limited satellite sites. Weekend breakfast and lunch. Small store. Boat launch. Leased land on Indian reservation about 3 miles from town. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
October 2011
$18
Stayed here with RPI. Just about every time I stay in a Thousand Trails campground I'm thankful that I did not succumb to their high pressure sales tactics. The place was practically empty except for the "privately owned" spaces. The sites were small, just water and electric in the majority of them. My rig is not that big (30ft) and the roads were still tight with a lot of ups and downs and tight curves. I enjoyed the natural beauty of the area and the hot tub was great. Don't even think of staying here without a toad or a tow vehicle. La Conner is lovely. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
July 2010
$1
I concur w/ the previous reviews. This is a typical Thousand Trials park. We were very lucky in that we got a premium site w/ sewer and a place for our satellite. There are not many in the park and we understand during the busy season they have a sign up list for these sites. If you intend to drive up and find a good site, it probably won't happen between now and after Labor Day. We would only stay here again because it doesn't cost us anything. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
May 2010
$1
Where do I begin. We planned on staying in La Conner Thursday - Sunday. We arrived Thursday early afternoon. We were pulling a 27' travel trailer with slide out. Many of the sites that we were looking at were tiny and not level. If you were pulling a small tent trailer you would have options. The roads in some spots were a bit tight. We finally found a spot that was somewhat level but was a bit muddy. We had to cut some of the over grown bushes back to get the slideout out. We walked around the park, the main club house was nice and had a large lawn behind it with a lot of stuff to do. The beach area was a bit small, no sand, mostly small rock and shells so don't plan on going barefoot. The next morning we got up and our fire pit was six inches under water from it raining all night, no joke. So all the non-level spots are now flooding our semi level spot. It was time to go. As we were packing a couple asked if they could cut threw our camp site to avoid the now flooded main roads. They both had umbrella's and only dry spot was walking right next to our trailer where our slide out was and the bushes we cut back, so it was tight. We told them try elsewhere. They did with no luck and came back. Sure enough the lady almost rubbed her umbrella along the side of our trailer but my girl friend grabbed it before she could scratch it all up. We like to take care of our stuff and these people were only worried about themselves. So if the drainage had been working then people wouldn't be using our camp site as a short cut. I think if you got a decent (rare) spot it would be a good place to stay. That being said with Thousand Trails now selling off private spots, it's going to get harder and harder to find a decent place to camp. Also, if you think this is near the wonderful town of La Conner, it isn't. So don't plan on walking to the town from the camp grounds. You would have to drive or have a long bike ride to get to town. Unless they do a major remodel, we don't plan on coming back. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$1
A very nice piece of property with a postcard waterfront on the bay but as usual with Thousand Trails parks, much work needs to be done. This is a very wooded park and many of the sites are very overgrown with bushes and tree limbs. Very well located to see the sites in this area and the staff is very friendly. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
July 2009
$32
We had not been back to this park in some time and as all of the Thousand Trails Parks they are in need of some TLC. The sites are for the most part in the trees with some privacy between sites. The brush and the blackberry bushes are taking over in many of the sites. There aren't many sites marked on the map that are satellite friendly. We lucked out in site 186 directly across from a restroom, and we received both internet and TV. One downside is there aren't many sewer sites, and they are mainly in the woods away from both lodges. The lodges are very nice with great views of the water. New spa just opened 8/1 in the family lodge. The showers were clean, but they are in need of some work, new tile, paint, etc. Water was nice and hot. The area is fantastic lots of things to do and places to explore. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2009
$2
This campground has narrow roads and all shady sites. Maneuverability is very tricky for a big rig over 40'. Only a few sites can get satellite and only 1 can get roof-top satellite in the McKenzie area where there is sewer. They are many more spots that can pick up satellite in the area where there is no sewer. Our space was large and we were able to park both our coach and our tow there comfortably. We had a fire ring on our site. Nice family clubhouse, miniature golf and playground for kids. WiFi at clubhouse only. We were able to have both cell phone and wireless computer service in coach with AT&T. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2009
$1
Nice large spots. Lots of privacy. The kids love the beach for "scavenging". I would rate higher if all sights had sewer access. Great entertainment in the clubhouse and outside activities such as Mini golf, horseshoes, volleyball, etc. Very friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com