218071 User submitted reviews online!!
South Marcum Campground was rated 9 out of 10 based on 9 user reviews. Phone: (618) 724-2493
CGID994

South Marcum Campground

Camp Information
Sites
161
Date of Stay
June 2014
Latest Rate
$24



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
no
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   10   10   10   10   7   9   10   9   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2014
$24
Very good campground with paved pads and concrete patio areas. Sometimes hard to reserve. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
This is campground heaven! Tall trees, paved roads & sites (our #84 was right next to a private bathroom & shower, and was on a lake-side peninsula) on Rend Lake. There is lots of room (about 50 feet) between sites & screening trees between. Quiet & beautiful spot, but only 3 miles from I-57. Best of all, our America the Beautiful Senior Pass meant that our regular fee of @24 for full hookups was only $12. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2013
$12
This is a great Corps of Engineer campground. The grounds are well maintained, the staff is very helpful and the restrooms/showers were clean. The rate we paid reflects the Senior Pass discount. Rates range from $12 for tent sites to $36 for full hook-ups. Full hook-up sites are limited. They include #'s 14 thru 18 in Owl's Roost loop (reservable; Sites 19, 22, 23, 25, 28, and 30 on the Beaver Lodge loop (non-reservable); Sites 49 thru 54 and 60 thru 63 on the Buck Ridge loop (reservable); Sites 65, 66, 67, 69, 70, 72, 74, 77, 79, 80 thru 84, 115, 116, 119, 121, 122, 125, 126, 127, and 129 on the Covey Point loop (reservable); and Site 137 on the Whispering Pines loop (non-reservable). Excellent tent sites are available on the lake and are level with fire rings and picnic tables. We spent 3 nights and had several deer walk through our site including a doe with 3 fawns and 2 buck with 4 points each. What a sight. Some sites require side to side and front to back leveling, but the majority are either flat or only require front to back leveling. The campground is easy to get to off of I-57. We will definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
May 2012
$16
Some new bathrooms, asphalt pads, and additional sewer hookups ( and some sites) were added to this campground in 2011. This campground is usually full, and has many waterfront sites on a large and busy COE lake. It's close to a boat ramp and the dam. Walmart is about 2-3 miles. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
September 2011
$12
Very large and manicured campground. It's on the shore of the very large Rend Lake. Far enough out of town to be quiet, but close enough if you need to run in for supplies. Some of the sites may require some leveling, but the cost and the hookups are worth it. The sites near the shoreline are generally electric only but as you move away from the shore, you get full hookups. Even though it is wooded, We were still able to get satellite reception. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
April 2010
$22
This campground is Closed for the 2010 season for construction. Check with the Corp of Engineers Benton, IL for reopening. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$16
We stayed here previous to our travel trailer purchase. It rained extremely hard over Labor Day weekend so now we no longer tent camp. Our site would not have accommodated a trailer with a slide or allowed one to put up the awning, but the website warned of this. There were many pine trees to provide a great deal of shade and the sites were far apart from each other. The facilities were clean and you could use the swimming beach for free with your campers ticket on the rear view mirror. It was a nice lakeside beach. We camped here in a Tent.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2007
$25
Awesome, awesome campsite. We thought it was very spacious and clean. The views of the sunset by the lake were goregous! We would love to stay here again if we are in the area. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
2003
$14
Large COE campground at the south end of Rend Lake, by the dam. Sites are generous size and private - you don't feel cramped or closed in. There is 1 large extremely clean and well maintained shower house among the 5 camping loops, with smaller comfort stations scattered about in each loop. Nice views of the lake - in some areas you can keep your boat tied up at your site. Courteous camp hosts. There are 2 dump stations. This campground is about 10 minutes outside the town of Benton, where there is a Wal-mart and several restaurants. It's a great campground for fishermen. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com