223427 User submitted reviews online!!
Capitol West RV & MH Park was rated 6 out of 10 based on 10 user reviews. Phone: (916) 371-6671
CGID9943

Capitol West RV & MH Park

Camp Information
Sites
89
Date of Stay
June 2012
Latest Rate
$15



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
no
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
no
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
no
Tents Allowed
no
Family Friendly
no
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
2   6   3   7   10   6   2   8   7   10   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
no  question  question  no  question  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
June 2012
$15
As others have noted, it is a big shame on the capital of California that there is not one decent park in the entire area. All the parks are a compromise either in location, facilities or cost. This park is in an economically depressed area of West Sacramento with the potential for danger. WE have heard gun shots at night, we see gang members walking by at night and do not feel safe. We were parked in site 2 upon arrival and had our rear bedroom (escape hatch) window smashed by a rock throwing teenager. If you come here, do not allow them to place you in site 1, 2, 3 or anywhere against the west fence facing Glide Ave. Although they are larger sites and most often used for the larger motor homes and 5th Wheels you are seriously at risk for vandalism by teenagers who walk by every day to and from the high school south of here. Bicycles have been stolen at night inside the park, all personal belongings left outside are at risk of theft, and any bays left unlocked are at risk of being rifled. Teenagers wander around the area late at night looking for mischief. The owners have covered themselves for any liability in extensive legal language on the rental agreements. They refuse to take any precautionary steps like providing security or putting in taller fences to protect client vehicles. Emergency vehicles with siren noises are common in this area all hours of the day and night. There is no place to walk any dog except on busy Glide Ave which can be quite dangerous at night with traffic passing at high rates of speed. This park is not worthy of a city the size of Sacramento! The sad thing is there isn't anything any better. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
October 2011
$35
Stayed one night while in the Sacramento area. Easy to access, friendly staff. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 3 / 10 ]
May 2011
$35
We were placed in the worst space in the park. There were plenty of angle back-ins that were easy to get into. To reach the sewer (using both sewer hoses stretched to the limit) and fit into the space, we had to back past the electric box by less than an inch and avoid the patio pad (which was raised) on the door side. The restrooms and showers are permanently locked. Nice laundry. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
January 2011
$35
This park is in West Sacramento City. It is mostly long term; however we found it clean and the long term people were friendly. Not a place for a vacation trip unless you are using it to see the capital and old Sacramento. Don't expect a resort type park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
November 2010
$35
We love Sacramento, and Capitol West RV Park is a really nice, clean, convenient home base for visiting the capitol area. This was our third time staying at Capitol West, and we plan to return again next spring on our way north. We couldn't help but notice that the person who gave a "2" rating appears to have gotten their parks mixed up. These sites are very large: we're in a 43' 4-slide-out motorhome and had plenty of space, and we didn't see a site in the whole park that would not easily accommodate a 30' trailer. There is no "trailer" office with a "front porch" (the office is a regular building with no porch at all); and we have never seen an unleashed dog here in nearly two weeks total time spent over three visits. We understand that everyone is entitled to their own opinion, but it does seem like they might have accidentally been referring to a different park. The lady who manages the office, is one of the nicest people we've ever met. She is a sweetheart who makes every effort to help anyone who comes in. The place is neat as a pin with excellent hookups, and they even allow RV washing, which is a rare bonus. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 6 / 10 ]
June 2010
$35
This park is fine as a base for exploring Sacramento. It’s basically a gravel parking lot, and a bit tight at that, but it works. Easy access to US-50 and not far from I-80. We would likely return. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 2 / 10 ]
May 2010
$35
This place was not at all what it advertises itself to be online. The website looks fantastic, so we called ahead and were told to take a spot and then pay. We got there to see there were no pull throughs, even though we said we had a 30ft trailer. The spot was a back-in with no way to do that with a trailer our size. When we tried to go to the trailer marked Office, a large unleashed dog was sitting on the porch, growling and nobody was home, so we left. There are mostly older trailers and motorhomes with people living in them in an older part of town. I wouldn't recommend this to those with large RVs or those with kids/dogs. Only benefit is there is a Wal-Mart nearby. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
November 2009
$28
Great park, served its purpose of being a place to camp while we had business in downtown Sacramento for a week. Sites were level and wide. Gravel space for RV, concrete patio, asphalt space for car. Plenty of space. Biking distance to brand new Wal-Mart and Home Depot. Very convenient. Bus stop is walking distance Located in an area that is being revitalized, not a luxury place to be. But the price is right, and the full hookups were good. Sewer connection is off the ground but no big deal. No grass for dog, but that was ok for our dog. Wireless internet good. Again, what sets this park apart is that it is biking distance to brand new Wal-Mart and has a bus stop outside the gate. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
May 2009
$35
Sites are very close together, and park is mostly concrete. It would be very hot in the summer as there are no trees for shade. Wi-Fi is available but not free. Our site had no cable, but we were able to get a few of the local channels. OK for an overnight stay but not for a long visit. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
April 2009
$35
What a find! The sites are very large and level, with nice clean gravel. The entire park is immaculately maintained. And the management are incredibly friendly and helpful. We stayed here for 5 nights and wish we could have stayed longer. There's so much to do in the area, and Capitol West is so conveniently located, that we still had tons of things we wanted to do. We're definitely planning on coming back to this gem of a park. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com