223474 User submitted reviews online!!
Dam West Recreation Area COE was rated 9 out of 10 based on 22 user reviews. Phone: (618) 594-4410
CGID996

Dam West Recreation Area COE

Camp Information
Sites
109
Date of Stay
April 2014
Latest Rate
$18



Hookups
Electric
yes
50amp
yes
Water
yes
Sewer
yes
Wireless Internet
yes
Cable TV
no
Accommodations
Pull-Thru Sites
yes
Big Rig Access
yes
Waterfront Access
yes (Lake)
Shade Trees
yes
Pool Access
no
Pets Allowed
yes
Tents Allowed
yes
Family Friendly
yes
Latest Review Information
Ratings (Last 10 Newest/Oldest)
8   9   9   9   10   8   8   8   5   7   
Clean Restrooms (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  yes  yes  yes  yes  
Clean Showers (Last 5 Newest/Oldest)
yes  question  question  yes  yes  
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
April 2014
$18
The best thing about this park is that is owned and operated by the Corps of Engineers, therefore seniors get half price. So you can camp in nice wooded and paved campground with electric and water for $9/night. And as if that weren't good enough, there is a campground below the spillway for $14 that you can get half price senior rate for $7/night. It is paved with paved pads, has electric hookups, and a central potable water supply, and nice clean close restrooms. And the river below the dam is literally 20 steps from the back of your camper with great fishing and fish cleaning station. Picnic pavilion close by. Where you going to find a campground like this for $7/night ??? We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Adertisement:
Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$9
This is a very nice Corps campground. We paid the senior half-price rate. They did have full hook-up and pull-through sites, but the back-in 50-amp sites are much larger and more private. We enjoyed the bike trails, as well. Only negative--to us--was that our site didn't have satellite TV access. Too many trees. Wi-Fi was good on Friday, weaker over the weekend. Verizon broadband worked. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2013
$9
Paid Senior rate of $9 per night for a nice long, level paved 50 amp back in site. We took one of the sites that cannot be reserved, but are held for walk ups. This is a very busy CG. It filled on the weekend and people were showing up before noon on Sunday looking for an available site. Overall this is a very nice area. This COE CG has Wi-Fi which was a nice surprise, but it was spotty on the weekend. TV via batwing was very good as was our Verizon cell and broadband. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2013
$9
Excellent campground, easy access, long sites, well maintained. We stayed across the street from the main campground and liked it. The earlier comment about the water changing temperature is still true but it wasn't that much of a factor. There are children's play areas. There are full hookup sites at the regular campground but most were underwater due to heavy rains. There were also nice long sites at the spillway that are first come, first serve. The only negative thing is that there are no places to eat in Carlyle, except for fast food. There's a café at the marina and it wasn't that good. We would stay here again. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2012
$8
Excellent COE. Spacious, paved sites with lots of trees so lots of shade. We had a lake site (#51) and it was perfect! Nice fire rings, and picnic tables on each site. We were electric only. Our fee was with the senior pass. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$26
Very large level gravel sites, either full hookup or electric only. Premium elec only sites on lakefront. Pretty spot on the lake, where our Golden Retriever found a swimming spot. Appears to have a lot of local folks, and reservations are necessary for weekends. Laundry was reasonable price, but we didn't use it. Just two miles to Wal-Mart. The friendly camp host said they are working on installing Wi-Fi. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$18
Across the street from the main entrance is what they call the "long term use" campground, about half pull-through and half back-in spaces. During our stay they were much less crowded than main area next to lake. Very quiet and tree-shaded, with wide paved spaces. Bathroom was clean, but single shower on both gender sides ran out of hot water after two consecutive uses. If you do not care about lake views, this is the place to camp. Attendants very friendly and entire campground is clean and attractive. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
August 2012
$9
If you are using the "Camping with the COE" book please note that the coordinates given are incorrect, and caused us no end of trouble cruising through St. Louis! We finally just opted for Carlyle and then followed the signs to the campground. This is a very nice park, well maintained with lots of beautiful trees and with many sites on the lake. Unfortunately, we could not find a site to get satellite service, but Verizon cell phone and mi-fi worked well. Note that there is no sewer connection or water at the sites! I see no reason why families with children would not find this a good campground. Our Golden Age Passport gave us a 50% discount so we only paid $9/night. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 5 / 10 ]
June 2011
$18
This camp seems to fill quickly. Many campers bring boats and the camp seems empty by day. The night seems to be loud and quiet time is not observed by many. The camp is run by Army Corps of Engineers. Not the best place to take young children. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 7 / 10 ]
March 2010
$30
Great campground. Kids loved the playground. It was too cold to swim but we enjoyed walking around the lake and riding bikes. Campsites are very wooded and there are lots of areas to explore. Bath house pretty clean. Area is very safe and well lit. Overall, we had a great time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
September 2009
$8
Great place to camp with the kids. We loved the fishing and will go back soon. The restrooms and showers were clean. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2009
$24
We really enjoyed the full hookup site that we had. The park's sites were a nice size and we felt like we had our own space. The campground was completely full but we still found it to be quiet and peaceful. This was a weekend trip for just my wife and I (No kids). It might have been a bit boring for our kids (teens) but my wife and I will definitely be going back as soon as we can get a site. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
May 2009
$12
Beautiful COE park, lots of shade and very spacious sites. Not much in town, new Walmart and a couple of restaurants. There are a lot of areas for walking and biking and plenty of space for dogs. Only downside is that the park, especially near the lake, can be very wet. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
October 2008
$12
This is a very nice COE park and even in October it was crowded with mostly retirees. It reminded us of a small village with lots of walkers, camp fires, Halloween decorations, party lights, etc. We used our Senior pass. We had a back-in site which was somewhat challenging for a 42' motorhome. Our site (#83) was quite unlevel and required blocks of wood to reach correction. There were lots of trees, but surprisingly the Dish worked! The sites are gravel with a picnic table, grill and fire ring. Roads are paved. Very good for dog walking. We truly enjoyed our three days. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
October 2008
$12
This is a great RV site operated by the Army Corps of Engineers. The staff was great and helpful. The RV sites were very spacious with all the facilities. This is the best site we have stayed. We would definitely stay here again. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
August 2008
$18
We love Dam West. This is a nice campground. Kept clean and lots of area to ride bikes and walk our dogs. Love lake views. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
July 2008
$24
We camped here in 25' motorhome with full hookups and lake view. The staff was very friendly and helpful. The campground looked very clean and had constant maintenance people reviewing site conditions daily. Our site was great until it rained and then it became muddy. Issue could be resolved by adding additional gravel to site and making channel to run water behind the site. We would definitely return! We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
June 2008
$27
This is a very nice Corps of Engineers campground on Lake Carlyle. The sites were huge, ours was over 100 feet long. There was lots of shade and plenty of space between sites. We would definitely stay here again. Think carefully though how close you want to be to the water. A few sites closest to the water had to be closed due to the recent flooding. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
June 2008
$12
This is an excellent COE campground on Carlyle Lake, Illinois’ largest man-made lake. Sites 75 - 97 are full hookup. Many of the sites in the campground are long enough to fit a fifth wheel, truck, and a boat. The campground is close to the marina and a restaurant. The restrooms and shower houses are clean, but there wasn’t a hot air blower or towel dispenser in the restrooms. There are grocery stores and a WalMart close by in the town of Carlyle. We used our “America the Beautiful” pass and paid $12 for a full hookup site. We camped here in a Fifth Wheel.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 9 / 10 ]
March 2007
$12
Excellent CG. Nice staff on site, close to beach, groceries, WalMart, and restaurants. A great place to go and spend quality time. We camped here in a Travel Trailer.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 10 / 10 ]
June 2006
$12
Outstanding campground! Large level lots with lots of privacy. Most have beautiful views of lake. Staff is friendly and helpful. We have stayed here twice. Only drawback is 4PM checkout and 5 PM check-in. We had to wait for our site to be vacate on last visit. Staff found us a place to park where we could hook up and wait in comfort. We camped here in a Motorhome.

Review Rating
Rating Image
[ 8 / 10 ]
2000
$14
COE campground, well maintained with paved roads & sites. Some sites on Lake with boat access. Coin laundry at Main Showerhouse. Quiet surroundings & friendly people. We camped here in a camper.
Advertisement:
RSS Feed
RVParkReviews.com