Highway 34 Colorado

Discussion in 'General Community Discussions' started by dementinator, Aug 19, 2009.

1. dementinator

dementinator
    Expand Collapse

Hi there, a quick question..

For my annual RV trip this year in September (I am from the UK) I was thinking of heading into the Rockies using Highway 40 north from I70 and then Highway 34 (Trail Ridge Road) before ending up at Fort Collins.

I was wondering how this road was, I am an experienced RV driver having done a trip every year since 1992 and have driven probably in excess of 100,000 miles or so.

I will be renting a 37ft Class 'A' as usual and I can see there are many bends etc in this route, however the road seems to be of a decent width etc and I am guessing there is a low speed Limit so hopefully any impatient drivers wishing me to drive over the edge so they can get on their way shouldnt be a problem.

I had a bad experience with a VERY narrow road around Lake Isabella some years ago in a large Bounder RV, I made it alright but it was hair raising with very little room and angry drivers right up my backside flashing lights etc.

It looks to be a beautiful route and I am in no hurry so speed is not an issue and I am guessing that there are many large RVs making this trip all the time.

Any info would be greatfully recieved.

2. RV Camper1

RV Camper1
    Expand Collapse

The highway, US34 over Trail Ridge Road of Rocky Mountain National Park has always been kept in pretty good condition, but the last time that I was over it, it was not a road for the largest of RVs. If you are well experienced, you can get over it, but there will be corners where you will block the lane traveling in the other direction for a brief period. The speed limit is mostly of 45mph or less, but if traveled at a busy time, you won't be going that fast very often.