East Coast Parks For Leisure Biking?

Discussion in 'Destinations and RV Parks' started by aljlsd10, Jul 3, 2010.

1. aljlsd10

aljlsd10
    Expand Collapse

Hi, I'm looking for suggestions for an RV park somewhere from Virginia on up the East coast where my family can ride our bikes in a safe, shaded, and paved or hard-packed dirt area. We are not looking to find an adventure-biking or mountain-biking aree, and we have noticed that many of the camprounds in the northeast particularly have gravel, which I don't think would work. Kids are 7/10/12 with a 1 year old in a baby seat. We would love to find a natural, scenic park with lots of shade as this will be in late July.

I'm new to RVing, but it seems to me that from the description of the parks, you can either have lots of activities like at the Jellystone / tourist area Williamsburg parks, but you are basically parked next to another RV in a parking lot with a little grass, or if you want a truly scenic location, you give up the amenties, is that the case? We did stay years ago in a log cabin in Fort Wilderness Disney, that was great...far enough apart from your neighbors but you could walk to pools, etc. Disney will be too hot in July, I wonder if that type campground exists anywhere else on the East Coast? Sorry, this is probably 2 questions in one post!

2. Tom

Tom
    Expand Collapse

If you get up to Connecticut, you might want to check out Hammonassette State Park. Very flat, 90% of the roads / paths are paved, and right on the water - Long Island Sound. The possible negatives - no hookups (dry camping), and very little shade.

3. John S.

John S.
    Expand Collapse